Mary Jane Agnew Hill Harmon(1934 – 2012)

Mary Jane Agnew Hill Harmon saw 54 years of changes in La Jolla. She passed away at home on October 20, 2012. She was born July 3, 1934, in Boston, Massachusetts. Mary Jane graduated from Milton High School, Milton, Massachusetts, in June 1952 and from Tufts University in Medford, Massachusetts, in 1956.
She married Edmund Walker Hill in March 1956, and lived in Bad Nauheim, Germany, for eight months while her husband served in the U.S. Army. They came to San Diego in 1957 and resided in La Jolla since 1958.
Mary Jane was a member of Alpha Xi Delta Sorority and of P.E.O. She was also a member of La Jolla Presbyterian Church for 47 years and served as an Elder and Deacon. She became a Founding Member of the La Jolla Community Church in 2005.
Mary Jane served as P.T.A. President of La Jolla Elementary School in 1970. She was a member of Scripps Memorial Hospital Auxiliary and served as Chairman of Scrippadilly Circus, a fundraiser for Scripps Memorial Hospital Auxiliary in 1970 and 1971. She was secretary for the Greater San Diego Chapter of the United Scleroderma Foundation, which she joined in 1978 when she was diagnosed with scleroderma.
Mary Jane divorced in 1983 and remarried Kenneth Harmon in 1986.
She is survived by her husband, Kenneth; two daughters and their husbands, Betty Hill Rothstein and Gary of Danville, California, and Millie Hill Weil and John of La Jolla; and five grandchildren, Craig, Lauren and Elizabeth Rothstein and Jennifer and Johnny Weil.
There will be a viewing at El Camino Mortuary in Sorrento Valley on Friday, October 26, 2012, from 4pm to 8pm. A funeral service will be held on Saturday, October 27, 2012, at 11am at the La Jolla Community Church, 4377 Eastgate Mall, San Diego 92122.
In lieu of flowers, donations may be made to La Jolla Community Church or a .
Mary Jane requested that people not wear black if they attend the funeral. She wants this to be a celebration of life since she is with her Lord now.
Published in La Jolla Light on Oct. 25, 2012