Rowena Osborn

Rowena Simpson Osborn

Rowena Simpson Osborn of San Antonio died peacefully at her Terrell Hills home on January 3, 2013. Born on December 4, 1916 in Georgetown, Texas, she was the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Albert Dee Simpson of Houston. She was preceded in death by her husband of forty-seven years, William Byron Osborn, Jr. Mrs. Osborn grew up in Houston and graduated from San Jacinto High School and attended Gunston Hall in Washington, D.C. She graduated from The University of Texas at Austin where she was a member of Pi Beta Phi. A lifelong Christian, Mrs. Osborn has been a devoted member of Saint Mark's Episcopal Church since 1945, when she moved from Houston to San Antonio. She was a member of The Junior League of San Antonio, The Battle of Flowers Association, The Charity Ball Association, The Assembly, The Patrons of the McNay Museum, The Quillen Society of the Witte Museum, The Alamo Heights-Terrell Hills Garden Club, The San Antonio Country Club and The Argyle. Mrs. Osborn is survived by her three children, Robert Foard Townsend III and his wife Marian, Diana Townsend Morehouse and William Byron Osborn III and his wife Bonnie, grandchildren Lisa Morehouse Ray and her husband Clint, Amy Simpson Morehouse, John Foard Townsend, Franklin Simpson Townsend, William Byron Osborn IV and his wife Jenna, Annlyn Amelia Osborn, Ada Carlotta Osborn and three great grandchildren, Carson Haggard Ray, Lauren Elizabeth Ray and Charlotte Emslie Osborn. Mrs. Osborn is also survived by many devoted nieces and nephews. The family wishes to give a special thanks to Maria Salazar and her caregiving team headed by Edith Ray. Family graveside services at Mission Burial Park South will precede the Memorial Service.

JANUARY 7, 2013
3:00 PM
315 E. PECAN

The Rev. Michael Chalk officiating. The service will be followed by a reception at the Church. Serving as honorary pallbearers will be Geary Atherton, Mark Barrett, Osborn Barrett, Albert Biedenharn III, Charles O. Biedenharn, Lawrence Biedenharn, Tibaut Bowman, David Simpson, Dr. Darrell Willerson, and Dr. James Willerson. Memorial contributions may be made to Saint Mark's Episcopal Church, 315 East Pecan Street, San Antonio, Texas 78205 or the .
You are invited
to sign the Guestbook
at www.porterloring.com

Arrangements with

Published in Express-News from Jan. 4 to Jan. 7, 2013