Julio D. Lecuona
1931 - 2019
{ "" }
Share
Share Julio's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Julio D. Lecuona

Chambersburg - Julio D. Lecuona of Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, 87 years of age, died at home on Thursday, August 1, 2019. The only child of the late Julio and Isabel (Bella) Lecuona, he was born on September 3, 1931 in Havana, Cuba. He graduated high school from the Columbus School in Havana and received a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. He returned to Cuba to work in the family enterprises of engineering, architecture, land development and utilities. In 1958, he married his wife, Silvia (Riano). Julio and his family emigrated to the United States in 1959 when the communist government of Castro confiscated all the family's properties. Julio worked for the Florida Division of General Waterworks until 1964. That year, he was recruited by the Borough of Chambersburg as water and sewer superintendent and later promoted to manager of all borough utilities. In 1976, he was appointed to the newly created position of Borough Manager, a position he occupied until his retirement in 1996.

A licensed professional engineer, he belonged to various organizations such as the Pennsylvania Society and the National Society of Professional Engineers, the American Water Works Association, the Pennsylvania Association for Municipal Management (past president) and the International County Management Association. During his tenure as Borough Manager, he represented Pennsylvania boroughs at the state's Water Resources Commission and the Sewage Advisory Committee. In 1992, he attended the National Security Seminar at the Army War College, Carlisle, Pennsylvania. After retirement, he served on many non-profit boards including the Chambersburg Hospital, Keystone Health, the Franklin County General Authority, Letterkenny Industrial Development Authority, Council for the Arts, and Franklin County Legal Services. Julio was the recipient of the Zane A. Miller award from the Franklin County Area Development Corporation for his contributions to economic development.

Surviving Julio is his cherished family, his wife of 61 years, Silvia; four children; Ana and husband Jack Swisher, Alex and wife Maria Lourdes, Julie and husband Ed Franchi, and Victor and wife Aida; six grandchildren; Erika, Evan, Ali, Sam, Trevor and Gabriella; three step-grandchildren; Adam and wife Andrea, Alex and Grant Swisher; and step-great grandchildren, Archer and Aria Swisher; beloved cousins and family in Florida, Spain and Argentina. The Lecuonas are long standing members of Corpus Christi Church. Julio was active in the service centered Rotary Club and a member since 1965, receiving the Paul Harris Fellow honors and recognized as Rotarian of the Year. His passions included reading, traveling, classical music, tennis, and was a keen follower of international politics.

Mass of Christian Burial will be celebrated at 11:00 a.m. on Tuesday, August 6, in Corpus Christi Catholic Church, 320 Philadelphia Avenue Chambersburg, with the Very Rev. Luis R. Rodriguez V.F. officiating. (If possible, those attending Mass are encouraged to park in the Corpus Christi Parish Center parking lot on South 2nd Street.) The family will receive friends from 5:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. on Monday, August 5, in the Thomas L Geisel Funeral Home, 333 Falling Spring Road, Chambersburg. A private interment will be held Corpus Christi Cemetery at a later date. In lieu of flowers, donations may be made to the following organizations: St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, Cumberland Valley Breast Cancer Alliance, or St. Vincent de Paul Ministries (320 Philadelphia Avenue, Chambersburg). Condolences may be expressed at geiselfuneralhome.com.






To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Public Opinion on Aug. 3, 2019.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
AUG
5
AUG
6
Mass of Christian Burial
11:00 AM
MAKE A DONATION
Please consider a donation, as requested by the family.
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by PublicOpinionOnline.com
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
15 entries
August 8, 2019
Dear Lecuona family,
My deepest sympathies go out to you in this time of grief. Julio was a wonderful man and I am thankful that I was able to get to know him many years ago. He touched many people directly and indirectly in this community and will be greatly missed.
With prayers, Lew Crist & family
Lew Crist
Friend
August 7, 2019
May the memories of the wonderful years you shared , comfort you in the difficult days and weeks ahead. Our thoughts are with you. Nicki and Art Pismeny
Nicola Pismeny
August 6, 2019
Dear Sylvia,
Cindy and I were saddened to hear of Julio's passing. We are so sorry for your loss. "May the choirs of angels come to greet him and take him to paradise." You and your family are in our prayers.

Jeff,and Cindy Lepo
Jeff Lepo
August 6, 2019
Mr. Lecuona brought light to our community by making sure we have clean drinking water. Thank you for all of your engineering knowledge and for having the courage to move through historical geopolitical horrors. Thank you from Debbie, Bill, Billy, Carly and Ian.
Debra Kramer
August 6, 2019
Dear Silvia, Julie, Eddie and to all family members; Mr. Lecuona was a brilliant, strong, benevolent, and compassionate man. I am happy to say that my father studied at the Army War College in Carlisle as well. I deeply regret being unable to attend the viewing and Mass for Mr. Julio Lecuona. That is only because I am limited by a health issue. May God be with us all. Thank you Mr. Lecuona. Thank you for all you have done for our world.
Debra Kramer (née Harner)
August 6, 2019
Silvia,

Hope you can find some comfort in knowing that Julio's work, legacy, and love will continue to touch countless members of the Chambersburg community for a very, very long time. Our deepest condolences on your loss!

Much love,

John and Claudia Pasierb and Family
John Pasierb
August 6, 2019
Dear Silvia,

My heart is filled with sadness upon hearing of Julio's passing. I shall miss him and the kind smile he always had for me when you would come to the theatre for an event. I am very glad I was able to see and spend a small amount of time with him one last time back in May.

May you find comfort in God's Love and in the arms and caring of friends and family.

With Love
Deborah Holtry
August 5, 2019
My sincere condolences to all of the family. May God's peace be with you. Love and prayers.
Tammy Skelly Helman
Friend
August 5, 2019
Silvia and family:

So sad to learn of Julio's passing. The world was a better place, especially Chambersburg, because of Julio's education, professionalism and compassion. Eighteen years ago, we were greeted warmly by you and Julio as we moved into the neighborhood. We will never forget your kindness and his smile.

Sending love and prayers in his honor. Paul and Janet Gardner
August 4, 2019
Silvia and family,
Sincere sympathy on Julio's passing. I have always admired his integrity, strong ethics and kindness and cherished his friendship. Chambersburg is a much better place because of him. Please know that you are in my thoughts, prayers and heart.
With love, Lorrie DeFrank
Lorrie DeFrank
August 4, 2019
Dear Silvia and Family,

My condolences on the passing of Mr. Lecuona. I well remember the arrival of the Lecuonas in Chambersburg--I was a student at Corpus Christi at the time, and I'm pretty sure that Mr. Lecuona came to visit us to explain the role that he was going to play with our waterworks in Chambersburg. Before too long, a new water plant was built in Chambersburg for us--we were even allowed to tour the new plant!

I'm a lot older than your children, but I believe that they grew up with my little sisters. I moved on in 1973, but keep up with Chambersburg, and am happy to know that the Lecuona's have remained one of our fine Corpus Christi Parish Families!
Marcia Steinour
August 4, 2019
Silvia - I am so sorry to read about the passing of Julio. You two have had a special place in Becca's and my heart for a very long time. Know that my prayers and love are being sent to you and the family.
Stephanie Salisbury
August 3, 2019
Dear Silvia and family, Ric and I were sad to hear about Julio's passing while at mass today. . We are extending our heartfelt sympathies to you and the whole family.He was such a dear man. We are sure he will be missed. May God bless his soul and grant him eternal rest.
Zenaida Magbojos
August 2, 2019
Tom Golden
August 2, 2019
Dear Sylvia and friends, Julio was the finest of gentlemen, the best of the best. He brought so much joy and love to everyone that knew him. I certainly will miss the sweet greeting of holding my hand and a soft kiss on my cheek. Sylvia, you know how much I have always loved both of you. We had a lovely friendship and you always brighten my day when we saw each other. Praying the God's love will comfort you all. In Christ's love, Sharon Brosious
Sharon Brosious
Friend
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences