Cesi Kellinger
{ "" }
Share
Share Cesi's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Cesi Kellinger Cesi Kellinger, who passed away Friday morning, October 10, 2014, was born on April 5, 1922 in Sansepolcro, Italy. She attended the Regina Elena School, an academy for young women. She went on to study at the University of Florence where she received her doctorate in German language and literature. She was a woman with many passions. Kellinger's knowledge and love of books led her to become a bookseller in the 1970's, specializing in books about women artists. In 2004, she donated more than 500 books to the National Museum of Women in the Arts. In 2011, she donated 200 dance items to the Library of Congress. The Library has designated this material as the Cesi Kellinger Collection at the Library of Congress. Cesi Kellinger embodied many interests: books, languages, politics, food, Brian, The New York Times, Cosmo, Tuscany, Legal Services Book Sale, Wilson College, Orchesis, The Josef Kellinger Prize for Excellence in German, nature, and the sunroom. One afternoon in 1944, high in the standing room section of the opera, she met Josef Kellinger, a young soldier stationed near Florence with the US Army. They were married in Austria in 1947. Her devotion to Joe continued beyond his death in 2001. The importance of relationships and family was paramount in her life. She continues to live in the hearts of her daughters Ellie and Paula, her grandson Brian, and her many friends. There will be a memorial service to celebrate the life of Cesi Kellinger on Thursday, October 16, 2014 at 3:00 PM in the Alumnae Chapel, Thomson Hall, Wilson College. The family requests the omission of flowers and suggests that memorial contributions in her memory be made to Franklin County Legal Services, 14 North Main Street, Suite 401, Chambersburg, PA 17201. Arrangements are entrusted to Thomas L. Geisel Funeral Home and Cremation Center, Chambersburg, PA. Condolences and memories may be shared on her Book of Memories page at www.geiselfuneralhome.com

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Public Opinion on Oct. 11, 2014.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
No memorial events are currently scheduled. To offer your sympathy during this difficult time, you can now have memorial trees planted in a National Forest in memory of your loved one.
Memories & Condolences
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
21 entries
October 5, 2020
Cesi, I have instructed on my will to have my ashes to be dispersed on the Afra, we will meet somehow somewhere, Ciao Fausto
Fausto Braganti
Friend
March 13, 2015
I am just now hearing about Cesi's death. I loved both Cesi and Joe very much. I still remember the lovely times we had long long ago in Chambersburg. Your whole family was always a very important part of my life. I will remember you all fondly.
Jane (Foltz) Burton
October 29, 2014
1928, Sansepolcro (Tuscany) Cesi is on that cart
Only now I have learned of Cesi's death and I am very sorry, Meeting her, even if only by mail was a great gift. I have not doubt, she was an exceptional human being. My most deep condolence,
I will miss her very much, Fausto uno che poteva parlare Borghese con lei.
Fausto Braganti
October 16, 2014
Paula and family my heart goes out to you....Rose Gates
October 15, 2014
To Ellie, Paula and Brian.

We were greatly saddened to learn of Cesi's passing. What an amazing woman she was! She was remarkable for her brilliance, her strong convictions,her warmth and thoughtfulness, her basic human decency, and of course her beauty and elegance. A classy lady in every way!

We will never forget the great kindness that Cesi and her dear Joe showed us by taking in our entire family (three generations!) when we fled to Chambersburg to escape the Three Mile Island accident. With no fanfare, they simply made their home ours. This was enormously comforting at a very frightening time.

Hospitality was characteristic of Joe and Cesi, and we remember with gratitude their obvious happiness in sharing the events of the Wilson German Department with the German students and faculty at Dickinson. Especially fond memories linger of those marvelous Christmas parties at their home – great food, great music, great friends.

Despite your sadness now, we are sure you know how fortunate you were to be so close to Cesi and Joe, who loved you dearly.

We have met many persons on our journey through life, but rarely have we encountered a couple that it was such a joy and an honor to know as was the case with Cesi and Joe.

With our deepest sympathy,
Dieter and Jackie Rollfinke
Dieter and Jackie Rollfinke
October 15, 2014
Ellie, Paula and Brian, My memories of your Mother and Grandmother, will always be her grace and propriety. She was a lovely, interesting woman and a truly a pleasure to know. May she rest in peace. Sending prayers of comfort and rest to you all.
Avis Graham
October 15, 2014
My thoughts and prayers to you, Paula. Your mother lived a long, full, rich life, and positively touched the lives of many, particularly the Wilson community and the greater Pennsylvania area. I feel fortunate to have met her on a number of occasions while working with you in Chambersburg, and to have also gotten to join you in visiting her birthplace of Sansepolcro. Sending you lots of love and condolences from Norway.
Brendan McCall
October 14, 2014
My prayers go out to you, dear Paula. Your radiant smile reminds me so much of your mother's! I am sure that the strength of her light energy shines forth in you now more than ever. May you and your family be comforted and blessed- you are so much loved and appreciated, by so many!
Lavinia Reid
October 14, 2014
The entire library staff here at Wilson College was always happy to see Cesi at the circ desk - it meant that we would have a wonderful chat, an empathetic ear, probably some great chocolate. She was a formidable lady and it always felt good to have her on our side. She will be missed.
Kathleen Murphy
October 14, 2014
Ellie and Paula, I am so terribly sorry to hear that your lovely mother is no longer with us. She was such an amazing lady in so very many ways, and I will miss her. I am so sorry that I will be unable to attend her services, but I think she would understand: I'm in Italy! Please contact me if I can help you in any way and I will be thinking of you all.
Ellen Gigliotti
October 13, 2014
Paula and Ellie and Brian, Cesi will be forever etched in our memories of Philadelphia Avenue. The wonderful aroma that came out of her kitchen and the oversized candy distributed at Halloween will always be a treasured story for our family. Joe's wonderful voice and direction at the neighborhood caroling mimics the sounds of heaven! Praise God that this wonderful couple are once again united for Eternity!! Big hugs, The Schweitzers
October 13, 2014
Ellie, Paula and Brian. We are so sorry to hear about Cesi. Thinking of you all. Love from Mark, Melanie and ason in England
October 13, 2014
I am so sorry to hear of Cesi's passing! Please know that she and your family are held close in the memories and hearts of so many of the Wilson students she and Joe touched over the years.
Jenni Rodda
October 13, 2014
Paula, I will always remember Cesi's smile and her kind words. She was a wonderful woman. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.
Lisa Kinley
October 12, 2014
I fondly recall Cesi Kellinger's patient and cheerful voice in the Language Lab for German. I plan to snail mail a check to Franklin County Legal Services to save on overhead. Commiserations to all who miss her and Josef.
Christina Bowman Tsuchida
October 12, 2014
Paula and Ellie,I will remember Cesi fondly. She was a delight to know. I valued her friendship and her candor.
Michael DeFrank Chief of Police(Retired)
October 11, 2014
Paula and Ellie I am sorry to hear of the passing of your mother. I remember Cesi's smile and pride in her family.
April A.
October 11, 2014
Paula, I just received the news about your Mother. I am sorry for your loss. I will send thoughts and prayers to you now and think of you on day of memorial.
carolyn perkins
October 11, 2014
I'm sorry Paula for your loss! Hugs sent your way.
Teri Bisceglia
October 11, 2014
My heart goes out to Paula and her sister Ellie, I did not know Cesi as well as I knew her daughter Paula but I imagine based on the integrity, intelligence and passion of Paula, that Cesi was quite a formidable womyn. Rest in peace.
Much love,
Samantha Ainuddin '94
Samantha Ainuddin
October 11, 2014
Chesi was an inspiration to all who knew her and a delight to those who knew her well. She will be sorely missed. Ed and Diana Steckel
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences