Cate-Spencer And Trent Funeral Home
403 Locust St
Sweetwater, TX 79556
(325) 236-6717
More Obituaries for Joe Franklin
Looking for an obituary for a different person with this name?

Joe Nathan Franklin

1952 - 2015 Obituary Condolences
Joe Nathan Franklin Obituary
Joe Nathan Franklin, age 85, of Garland, (former longtime resident of Sweetwater) passed away on Wednesday, July 8, 20l5 at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital in Dallas.
A wake service will be held Friday, July 17, 2015 from 6:30-8 p.m. at Cate-Spencer & Trent Funeral Home Chapel.
Funeral services will be held 2 p.m. on Saturday, July 18, 2015 at Cate-Spencer & Trent Funeral Home Chapel with Rev. Robert Carey, Jr. officiating. Burial will follow at Sweetwater Cemetery. Arrangements are under the direction of Cate-Spencer & Trent Funeral Home.
Joe was born on May 5, 1930 in Cameron, Texas to Lee Roy and Sophia (Anderson) Franklin. He married Sulara (Pee Wee) Jackson on November 19, 1952. He worked as a forklift operator for USG for over 30 years before retiring.
He is survived by two sons, Joe Ed Franklin and wife Jackie of Euless, Texas, and L.T. Franklin and wife Lucile of Arlington, Texas; two daughters, Gloria Franklin of Garland, Texas, and Sherri Ann Franklin Moore and husband Craig of Garland, Texas; grandchildren, Sulara Denise Carter, Stephen D. Carter, Daniel Franklin, Joseph Franklin, Little L.T. Franklin, and Olivia Franklin; great grandchildren, Mica Price, Stephen Darrell Carter, Nevaeh Carter, Tristan D. Franklin, Taylin D. Franklin, and Tayson D. Franklin; three brothers, Lee Roy Franklin and wife Lillian of Levelland, Texas, Jimmy Franklin of Indiana, and L.T. Franklin and wife Debbie of Levelland, Texas, sister Viola Burgess of Bryan, Texas, and numerous nieces, nephews, and cousins.
He was preceded in death by his parents, wife, Sulara (Pee Wee) Franklin, two brothers, Teddy Lockridge, and James Franklin and one sister, Magnolia Woodruff.
Pallbearers will be Robert Carey, Jr., Charles Walker, Kenneth McCoy, Ronnie Jackson, Johnny McCoy, Jamie McCoy, Harvey Jackson, and Michael Diggs.
Honorary Pallbearers will be Michael Franklin, Joe Niblett, Stephen Carter, Joseph Franklin, Bert Franklin, Marlon Franklin, Daniel Franklin, and Eugene Scott.
Published in Sweetwater Reporter on July 17, 2015
Read More