Lt. Col. Scott Lee Wilcox
{ "" }
Share
Share Scott's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Lt. Col. (ret.) Scott Lee Wilcox, age 53, of Sugar Run, Pa., tragically passed away in an aircraft accident on July 19, 2017 in Monroe Township, Bradford County.
He was born on July 3, 1964 in Towanda, Pa. The son of the late Donald Wilcox and Henrietta Price of Towanda, Scott was delivered by Dr. Pete. He attended school in Wyalusing where he graduated from Wyalusing Valley High School in 1982. After graduation, he attended Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania via an AFROTC scholarship. He graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Geography (Urban/Regional Planning), graduating Cum Laude in 1986 and commissioned as 2nd Lt. He received the honor of top-ranked Urban and Regional Planning graduate. 
While in the Air Force, he received a master's degree in Human Resources Management in 1994 from Webster University and another that same year in International Relations. He also graduated from the prestigious program of Human Resources Management at Cornell University in 1998.  
Scott entered the U.S. Air Force attending Undergraduate Pilot Training (UPT) at Laughlin AFT, Texas. He was later medically grounded and accepted to the Air Force Office of Special Investigations in 1988 as a Special Investigative Officer. He was appointed to high ranking commissions such as Chief of Performance Management Division, Air Cargo Section, Plans and Programs, and Counterintelligence. Several assignments included worldwide counterintelligence and anti-terrorism missions, as well as Commander of the Air Force Office of Special Investigations Antiterrorism Team. He also served as the program director and visiting lecturer at Cornell University. During his tenure, the Cornell University AFROTC leadership development program was ranked number one in the nation. Scott was the Lead Defensive Tactics instructor for the United States (OSI) Antiterrorism Team. In 2008, Scott was appointed Chief of Investigative Division, Office of Military Commissions, Office of Secretary of Defense at the Pentagon. He served in that role until his retirement from the Air Force in 2011.  
Scott married Marion Bouika Wilcox in 1987. They had a daughter, Haley, in 1996. They later divorced and remained good friends
Scott married Jennifer Hoffman Wilcox on March 4, 2006. They have a daughter, Mia. From his union to Jennifer, he became a devoted father to Alyssa and Alec Alaniz. 
Scott loved martial arts and was continually involved in martial arts instruction for over 30 years. He had black belts in multiple styles of karate and was a certified Krav Maga military and law enforcement instructor for the USA. Scott was the owner of EDGE Fitness and Martial Arts where he spent his time teaching friends and neighbors of the Bradford County community many different types of martial arts. He was also a mentor, coach and friend to his students and coworkers.  
In 2011, Scott opened the EDGE Security Solutions which provided a variety of defense training, handgun training, and self-defense for businesses and individuals. He remained in that capacity until his passing.
Scott was a proud member of the NRA, Victory Church, Towanda Masonic Lodge, Endless Mountains Heritage Region, Life Center Board, and Towanda Gun Club. He enjoyed living life to the fullest with hobbies including traveling, hunting, skiing, scuba diving, snowmobiling, motorcycles, and riding fast cars! 
Scott had a passion for flying and spent much of his free time piloting his plane. He enjoyed taking flights around Bradford County and waving to family, friends, and neighbors while flying by. He was doing exactly what he loved at the time of his passing July 19, 2017.  
Scott was preceeded in death by father, Donald Albert Wilcox on May 5, 1992, and Chieko and Martin Doherty. He is survived by his mother and step-father, Henrietta and Mark Honchell; his wife, Jennifer; four children, Haley, Mia, Alyssa and Alec; sisters, Kim (Wayne) Miller and Yvonne (Corey) Sickler; nieces, Shanna (Keith) Anderson, Andrea Miller, Jennifer Johnson, Joyce Johnson, June Johnson, and Emile Hoffman; nephews, Clayton Miller, Mitchell Hoffman, Tyler Hoffman, and Ryan Hoffman; and several great nieces and nephews. 
A celebration of life service will be held at 1 p.m. on Saturday, July 29, 2017 at Victory Church in Troy, Pa., with Pastor Josh Payne of the church officiating. The family will receive friends immediately following the service at the church. Military rites will be held at the church preceding the celebration of life service and will be conducted by the members of Air Force Military Honor Guard and the members of the Wyalusing American Legion Post #534 as well as Masonic services conducted by the members of the Union Wyalusing Lodge #108 F&AM Masonic Lodge in Towanda, Pa.
The family asks that in lieu of flowers, memorial donations may be made in Scott's name to the Wilmot Volunteer Fire Co., 58 River View Road, Sugar Run, PA 18846 or to the Wyalusing Volunteer Fire Department, P.O. Box 68, Wyalusing, PA 18853.
Arrangements were entrusted with Sheldon Funeral Homes, 155 Church St., Wyalusing, PA 18853. Online condolences may be made at www.sheldonfuneralhomes.com.
This obituary was originally published in the Daily Review (Towanda, PA).

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Daily Review on Jul. 22, 2017.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
No memorial events are currently scheduled. To offer your sympathy during this difficult time, you can now have memorial trees planted in a National Forest in memory of your loved one.
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Becilia Wong, friend, NYC
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
20 entries
February 11, 2018
So sad to hear of Scott's passing while reading the recent Bloomsburg Quarterly magazine today. Attended Bloomsburg with Scott and I always admired his guts and fortitude. You just knew Scott had a calling and would be a success at whatever he ventured. May all of you find continued comfort and peace in his memory and knowledge you will see him again one day. Sincere condolences to all his family.
Jay Guthy
Friend
September 24, 2017
I am just finding out tonight of this great loss to your family. My thoughts and prayers are with you.
Mary Lou Comstock
July 31, 2017
Sending thoughts and prayers to the Wilcox family and friends. I would like to think he's soaring high in the clouds waving at all of us! Will miss you.
Pollyanna Gero
Military
July 29, 2017
May Scotts family find peace in this time of sorrow,and may God guide you through it all.
Rex Seymour
July 26, 2017
I'm here for you little sister ! Love your brother
July 25, 2017
My prayers and condolences go out to the family.
Bonnie Burns
July 25, 2017
My deepest sympathy to the Wilcox family.
Mark Houck
July 24, 2017
It is such a lot of sadness that Scott is no longer here on earth with us and that the family has this loss to grieve. My thoughts and prayers go out to you all. He was someone I silently admired a great deal while serving at the 92nd Aerial Port Reserve Center. Always fit, upbeat and smiling no matter how tough things were. His existence definitely permeated others positively from what I could tell. He was there to support others in need, it seemed. A strong man , with an even stronger heart; a presence of compassion, kindness , dignity , grace and encouragement among his comrades in the Air Force. Bless the family who may continue the steps that they've been shown by Lt Wilcox , until the steps become their very own!
July 24, 2017
Celebrating a life well lived and lived to the fullest. Scott will truly be missed - Aim High and Rest In Peace my friend
Dan Slate
July 23, 2017
Sensei Scott was the strongest guy I've ever met in real life. His passion for martial arts and making me and the rest his students stronger will resonate with me for my whole life.
Ryan
July 23, 2017
Jenny, sorry to hear of this tragedy. Sending thoughts and prayers from the Yetzer family.
Mike Yetzer
July 23, 2017
Jenn sorry for your loss prayers to your entire family at this time love you thinking of you .
Amy Bull
Classmate
July 22, 2017
Sensei was a great role model to me and I had so much fun in his class. I am going to miss goofing off with him and hearing him call me Wonder Woman.
Rhi
July 22, 2017
I will miss you my brother. You encouraged me to fight when I was in the hospital. You were always there for me and I'm forever grateful for all you've done for me. Love you man!
Bobby Cumby
July 22, 2017
So very sorry for your loss. I remember Scott as energetic, funny and never afraid of a challenge while serving in the 92nd APS in Forty Fort, Pa. He packed a lot into 53 years of living. My condolences to his family and friends.
July 22, 2017
Our deepest sympathy goes out to all of Scott's family, our thoughts and prayers are with you!
Janice & Ron Shaffer
July 22, 2017
My condolences to the family.. You will be missed.. OSI BEST gone to soon.. rest in paradise!
Jacquelyn Smith
July 22, 2017
May the love of friends and family carry you through your grief.
Dolores Sharer and Jim Smith
July 22, 2017
Scott was such a compassionate and accomplished individual with a strong devotion to the community and its youths.
His legacy will live on in our hearts and minds for decades to come.
We will all miss his wonderful kind nature and yes, that brilliant smile.
Thoughts and prayers for his family.
Soar with the angels Scott.
Linda
July 22, 2017
Always in our hearts!! Prayers for your family as they go thru this very sorrowful time. You taught my children and myself so much more than karate. You taught us diligence, humility and self discipline and most importantly self worth. You will truly be missed Sensei. ❤
Karen Chmieleski
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences