Alice T. Carter
1946 - 2016
Share
Share Alice's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Alice T. (Thompson) Carter, 69, of Millvale, passed away Saturday, Nov. 26, 2016. She was the devoted wife of Roderick Carter; loving mother of Barker T. and Mary Alice Carter; proud grandmother of Alice and Alexander Carr; and loving sister of Norine Thompson. She was the theater critic for the Tribune-Review. For more than 20 years, Alice was a judge and presenter at the Annual Gene Kelly Awards for excellence in High School Musical Theater.
Friends will be received from 2 to 4 and 6 to 8 p.m. Monday, Dec. 5, 2016 and from 2 to 4 and 6 to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 6, 2016, in the HEALY-HAHN FUNERAL HOME INC., 512 Grant Ave., Millvale, 412-821-2940.
"The Loving Matriarch of the Carter Family will be greatly missed." Family suggests memorial donations may be made in lieu of flowers to the Women's Center & Shelter of Greater Pittsburgh, PO Box 9024, Pittsburgh, PA 15224.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Pittsburgh Tribune Review from Nov. 29 to Nov. 30, 2016.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
DEC
5
Visitation
02:00 - 04:00 PM
DEC
5
Visitation
06:00 - 08:00 PM
DEC
6
Visitation
02:00 - 04:00 PM
DEC
6
Visitation
06:00 - 08:00 PM
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
MEMORIES & CONDOLENCES
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
12 entries
January 10, 2019
My deepest condolences to the family, may you find comfort and strength from the God of all comfort in this difficult time (Isiah 26:19)
January 12, 2018
I am sorry for your loss. May mercy and peace and love be increased to you during this sad and difficult time. Jude 2.
AC
November 28, 2017
My deepest sympathy to the family. Former Sample teacher Barbara Stepp Parshall
December 4, 2016
Mary Alice, I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your Mother. She was such a wonderful woman. She was my first Girl Scout leader and I have very fond memories of coming to your house for meetings and learning so much from your Mom. She was a role model for sure.
I have my own Girl Scout troop now with 11 girls in Middle and High School and I am proud to carry on the same tradition your Mom did for us when we went to Sample Elementary School together. Sending our deepest sympathy to you and your brother and the whole family.
Andrea (Newland) Shissler
December 2, 2016
Mary Alice,
I'm sorry for the loss of your mother. I remember when we were young playing at your house and how kind and fun your mother was. May great memories you have keep her spirit alive forever.
Mary (Friel) DiCenzo
December 2, 2016
I will miss you so much, Alice. Rest in peace, I am sure you've got some organizing and opinions to share on the other side. We need angels like you orchestrating this world. You will be missed.
Shaunda Miles
November 30, 2016
Dear Alice. What a loss! I can still see you in your wedding dress on the Gateway Clipper. You were radiant, happy and still full of fun and humor. You will be so missed. We all appreciated your intelligence and eagerness to keep learning. Rest In Peace, Alice, and prayers for Rod, Carter and Mary Alice and the rest of the family.
Colette Freiwald
November 29, 2016
Sharing in your loss -- Alice was a gracious woman and a knowledgeable and capable journalist. She was receptive to ideas I pitched and skillful in bringing stories to life. I can attribute much of my success as a media relations representative for clients in the arts to Alice. She was a joy to know and work with!
Diane Wuycheck
November 29, 2016

May the God of all comfort strengthen the family during this time of deep sorrow. Those who pass on, God keeps in his memory because they are precious in his eyes. My sincerest condolences. (Psalms 116:15)
Ford Family
November 29, 2016
I am so sorry for your great loss. May the God who "binds up the brokenhearted" and "comforts all who mourn" sustain you during this difficult time. (Isaiah 61:1,2) With sincerest sympathy
November 29, 2016
May the God of comfort be with the family during this time. 1Peter5:6,7
c t
November 28, 2016
Rod and family...I simply can't express the loss and sadness I'm feeling, with the loss of Alice. She was a wonderful theatre colleague and friend. Many hugs and much love to you. Alice was...and is...one of a kind.

Marci Woodruff
INVITE OTHERS TO ADD MEMORIES
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences