Derek J. Hill
1986 - 2016
{ "" }
Share
Share Derek's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Derek James Hill, of McKeesport, was born Oct. 29, 1986, and passed Sunday, Nov. 27, 2016. He was 30 years old. Derek was the son of Janice (Halaszynski) Rojas and stepson of Daniel Rojas. Derek enjoyed hunting and fishing. More than anything else, he loved spending time with his family. Derek was a humble person who cared deeply about helping others. He often spoke at NA meetings in an effort to save people from the pain he knew too well from his own life experiences. In addition to his mother and stepfather, Derek is survived by his maternal grandmother, Judith Halaszynski; brother, Sergeant (P) Hill, Dwight M III and sister-in-law, Kari, of Colorado Springs, Colo.; nieces, Taylor Elizabeth and Hope Marie; and many aunts, uncles and cousins. Derek was preceded in death by maternal grandfather, James Halaszynski; and paternal grandparents, Dwight and Pearl Hill.
Family and friends will be welcomed from 2 p.m. until the hour of funeral service at 4 p.m. Thursday at WILLIG FUNERAL HOME & CREMATORY.
If you knew Derek, please come and share memories and stories to celebrate his life with us; or, as a private ritual, bring a note or card that answers this question, "If you had just five more minutes with Derek, what might you want him to know?" Your special notes and cards will remain with him always. www.willigfuneralcremationservices.com.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Pittsburgh Tribune Review from Nov. 29 to Nov. 30, 2016.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
NOV
29
Visitation
02:00 - 04:00 PM
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Willig Funeral Home & Monument Co
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
12 entries
September 24, 2018
My deepest condolences to the family, may you find comfort and strength from the God of all comfort in this difficult time (Isiah 26:19)
December 8, 2016
I am so sorry to hear that Derek is gone. I'm so sorry for your family
Lynn Wargo
December 1, 2016
Janice and Family,
I'm so sorry for your loss. My prayers are with you during this difficult time.
December 1, 2016
Janice,

I firmly believe that there is a Creator of heaven and earth who mourns with us in our loss. May He send his angels of comfort to ease your pain.
Dan
November 30, 2016
May the God of all Comfort, comfort you and your family, in this your time of need.
November 30, 2016
What a remarkable young man, gone too soon as so many have. To Derek's family. To acknowledge your son's death and his struggles took so much to say. I pray for your strength and courage to be there for the following days.
God bless all of you.
Mary Saunders
November 30, 2016
I am sorry to hear about Derek. My deepest sympathies go out to the Halaszynski family.
Bill Gerhardt
November 30, 2016
Janice my friend words can not express how sorry I am for your lost my prayers to you and your family
Monica Henderson
November 30, 2016
So sorry for the loss of Derek.. I remember the first time I met him was at an NA meeting and I was talking n he said shhhh theres people here trying to get the message!! I often listen to him talk and knew how bad he wanted it... I know how bad he struggled.. he was such a nice man... he def will b missed... But know his struggle is over and he is at peace no more pain !! God Bless u and ur family!! RWG Derek
Theresa Ritter
November 30, 2016
Prayers for the family.
Martha Thomas
November 29, 2016
Janis and family I am so sorry for your lost

Tanya Garcia
McKeesport
November 29, 2016
To Dwight and Jan, may you both find peace, during this time of sorrow. I can promise that as time goes on, things will come up that will trigger a memory of Derek, and your tears of sadness will turn to a smile; for it is those memories of Derek that will allow you to reflect, and be comforted to know that he was a part in your life. Rest in Peace, Derek. Your family and friends love you very much.
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences