Gerard S. Lucarelli
1941 - 2016
{ "" }
Share
Share Gerard's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Gerard S. "Jerry" Lucarelli, 74, of Elizabeth Township, passed away Monday, Nov. 28, 2016, in Jefferson Hospital. Born Dec. 6, 1941, in Pittsburgh, he was a son of the late Louis and Harriet (Novak) Lucarelli. A member of St. Michael Parish in Elizabeth Township, Jerry graduated from Carrick High School, from which he received a Distinguished Alumni Award, received his bachelor's degree from West Liberty University and his master's degree from Duquesne University. Jerry was an Army veteran, having served in the 8th Division of the Third Army Band in Germany, even playing onsite at President Kennedy's famous "Ich Bin EinBerliner" speech. After his service, he stayed active professionally in music, working as a music teacher for both Keystone Oaks and Clairton School Districts, serving as musical director for four area churches, and even playing with his brother, Louis, in the Lucarelli Brothers Band. For his talents, Jerry was inducted into the Pittsburgh Jazz Society's Hall of Fame and received an award from the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers. He also was an accomplished equestrian, winning with his horse, Shawnee Heart, and using this activity, most importantly, to spend time with his grandchildren. Jerry is survived by his wife, Sally (Medvidovich) Muro Lucarelli, whom he wed in 2001; his son, Gerard S. (Karen) Lucarelli Jr., of McDonald; his grandchildren, Anna Lee and Gerard K. Lucarelli; his brother, Louis (Joanne) Lucarelli, of Bethel Park; his niece, Tricia Turner; and his nephews, Stephen and Michael Lucarelli.
Friends will be received from 6 to 8 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 3, 2016, and from noon to 4 and 6 to 8 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 4, 2016, in the A.J. BEKAVAC FUNERAL HOME, 555 5th St., Clairton, PA 15025, 412-233-5700. A Mass of Christian Burial will be held at 10 a.m. Monday, Dec. 5, 2016, in St. Michael Church, with Father Thomas A. Wagner officiating. Procession and burial will follow to St. Clare Cemetery, Clairton.
Memorial contributions in Jerry's name should be made to the Relay For Life of the American Cancer Society, P.O. Box 22478, Oklahoma City, OK 73123. www.bekvacfuneralhome.com.



To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Pittsburgh Tribune Review on Nov. 30, 2016.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
DEC
3
Calling hours
06:00 - 08:00 PM
DEC
4
Calling hours
12:00 - 04:00 PM
DEC
4
Calling hours
06:00 - 08:00 PM
DEC
5
Mass of Christian Burial
10:00 AM
St. Michael Church
DEC
5
Burial
St. Clare Cemetery
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
MAKE A DONATION
Please consider a donation, as requested by the family.
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by A. J. Bekavac Funeral Home
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
20 entries
November 24, 2020
I still thank God for giving me the opportunity to work with and learn from Mr. Lucarelli, a true maestro.
God bless him and his family.
Mary Ellen MacPherson
Friend
January 10, 2019
My deepest condolences to the family, may you find comfort and strength from the God of all comfort in this difficult time (Isiah 26:19)
September 24, 2018
My deepest condolences to the family, may you find comfort and strength from the God of all comfort in this difficult time (Isiah 26:19)
January 13, 2018
God is good and merciful, he keep those who pass on in his memory because they are precious to him. Psalms 116:15.
AC
July 31, 2017
I wish to express my deepest sympathy for the great loss of your beloved Gerard. May the God of all comfort be with you and give you a call you strength during this most difficult time.
December 4, 2016
Sorry to hear about Gerry, he was a special person and enjoyed his music.
Alice Hradisky
December 4, 2016
Jerry and I worked together in the Music Department of Dormont Elementary School for many years. He was an outstanding musician, teacher and friend. He was an award winning jazz composer who enriched the lives of thousands of children and adults. He retired from teaching a few years before me and I missed working with him and learning from him for the last several years before I retired. I want to extend my condolences to Sally, his son and daughter-in-law and the grandchild he adored. One of his retirement gifts from the Dormont faculty was a new bridle for his treasured horse. Jerry lead an adventurous life and will long be remembered.
Mary Ellen MacPherson
December 3, 2016
My thoughts and prayers go out to Jerry's family. I am retired from KOSD and will
always remember his fun sense of humor.
December 2, 2016
Eternal Blessings Bouquet
Send Flowers and Gifts
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
a loved one
December 1, 2016
To the Family,

We were saddened to hear of the passing of Mr. Lucarelli. He was a truly gifted musician but above all he had a genuine love of children. The Keystone Oaks Community was blessed to have had him teaching our children. Sending prayers and condolences during this difficult time.

The Dobos Family
Lori Dobos
December 1, 2016
FTD Eternal Affection Arrangement
Send Flowers and Gifts
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
a loved one
December 1, 2016
My husband Bob and I feel very fortunate to have known Jerry, a wonderful man and musician. He truly was well respected by his peers. We always enjoyed his performances and will cherish those memories forever.
Jen and Bob Stevens
Jen & Bob Stevens
December 1, 2016
So sad to hear about the loss of Mr. Lucarelli. He was my elementary music teacher, and the man who taught me to love playing in a band, and how to play mallet percussion. 20 years later, I'm still playing, thanks to the wonderful foundation he instilled in me. Rest In Peace.
Kalla Brinkley
December 1, 2016
Veronica
November 30, 2016
My deepest sympathies. What a wonderful man who lived a well lived life!
Ken Karsh
November 30, 2016
I'm sad to hear that Jerry passed away at such a relatively young age. I was previously married to his brother Louis, and always enjoyed Jerry's positive energy. I'm now live in Central Oregon.

My thoughts, prayers, and sympathy go with his family in the coming days. I hope memories of happier times will bring comfort.
Darlene Ashley
November 30, 2016
Deepest sympathy to the Lucarelli family. Enjoyed many conversations with Jerry in the office of Keystone Oaks. May he rest in peace
Patricia Howard
November 30, 2016
So very sorry for the loss of Jerry. My son's had him at Dormont Elementary. They continued with music thru middle school and high school. Fond memories
Kathy Cummins
November 30, 2016
I only had the opportunity to work with Jerry for a few short years. His wit and sarcasm always made me smile. I enjoyed hearing tales of The Headless Horseman riding through South Park.
Patty Peterson
November 30, 2016
Our hearts are broken. Jerry will be most remembered as being a true gentleman, by his musical talents, and so kind and generous to our family, in all ways. My condolences to Sally, his son Jerry Jr., and his grandchildren, and Lou and Joanne. I am so upset by his passing, may he rest in peace. Love, Darlene
Darlene Tchirkow
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences