John F. Delaney Jr.
{ "" }
Share
Share John's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
John F. Delaney Jr., M.D., Ph.D., 78, of Fox Chapel, died Sunday, Nov. 27, 2016. He was the beloved husband of Rose (Hammond) Delaney; brother of Daniel, and his wife, Dee Delaney; uncle of Anne Delaney, Daniel (Haley) Delaney Jr., and their children, Adele and Jack; and brother-in-law of Joella Hammond. Dr. Delaney was the medical director of Milestone. He was a board-certified psychiatrist, neurologist and geriatric psychiatrist. He graduated from the University of Pittsburgh Medical School, did his residencies at the University of Pittsburgh and Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic. John was a retired colonel with the Army Reserves. John most recently was the District 13 trustee for the PA Medical Society, and president of the History of Medicine Society. When people would thank him for helping them, he would say, "that's what I'm supposed to do." John was the best husband, friend and colleague, and the world is a better place because of him.
Visitation is from 4 to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2016, at the WEDDELL-AJAK FUNERAL HOME,100 Center Ave., Aspinwall, where a parting prayer will be said at 9:30 a.m. Wednesday, followed at 10 a.m. by a Christian Funeral Mass in St. Joseph Church, O'Hara Township.
In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions may be made to St. Joseph's Church, 342 Dorseyville Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15215.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Pittsburgh Tribune Review from Nov. 28 to Nov. 30, 2016.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
NOV
29
Visitation
04:00 - 08:00 PM
NOV
30
Prayer Service
09:30 AM
NOV
30
Funeral Mass
10:00 AM
St. Joseph Church
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Weddell-Ajak Funeral Home
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
26 entries
November 22, 2019
When I saw that John was on the list of attendees to the 60th anniversary of our graduation from Wilkinsburg High School, I was so looking forward to talking to him and learning where life had taken him. Little did I know then that he was a revered physician and person and had accomplished so much and was so caring and humble. It was a great disappointment when he wasn't there. So sad when I learned the reason why. I'll always remember him as the little boy with a briefcase.
Joyce Spark
Classmate
March 1, 2018
He was the best psychiatrist I ever had and I had many. He always made me feel I was there for a reason. He died doing what he loved doing helping others. Now he is at peace but surely missed and often thought about. They need more people like him. I was blessed to have known him as long as I did.
Tracy Zatlin
February 19, 2018
Came across the obituary inadvertently.
Attended classes with John at Pitt. I send my condolences to John's family. I have happy memories of John. He was kind and generous and I am sure that he rests in peace with the angels.
Stephanie Birkmeyer
February 6, 2018
Dear Rose, I am sorry to her of John's passing. We were classmates at Pitt from '56-'60, He was GREAT help to me after my husband died. I regret only finding out about his passing only now.
Maryann Tarr
December 7, 2016
Dear Rose,

I just heard of John's passing and wanted to share my condolences. I have such fond memories of our time together in class and am humbled to have been a part of that with both of you. Later when my father was having medical issues, you and John were so helpful in guiding us through it. I can't tell you how much it meant to me to have such caring friends.

I hope it gives you some comfort in this time of loss to know how much he touched other people's lives.

Mike Korns
December 7, 2016
In the short time that I went to Dr Delaney he helped me so much. I will truly miss him.
tamara nelson
December 5, 2016
Dear Rose:
I am so sorry to hear of your loss. John was a wonderful, warm and very kind person. So Talented and enjoyed by all who came in contact with him. Be assured he is now with God. Take comfort in the wonderful years you had together. God Bless him and with you.
Jennie Bullard
December 3, 2016
Dr. john, so sorry we were not close, thought of you every so often,but never acted on it. Never saw you without a smile and a kind word..you were one of a kind for sure. Say hi to God for me, thanks. TOM
December 3, 2016
I remember John arriving at Johnston Elementary School in Wilkinsburg either in kindergarten or first grade with a small briefcase. I guess that briefcase took him far in his life. So wonderful to hear how kind he was and how many people respected and loved him as a doctor and truly caring person. His work is done here, but he will be remembered always by the people whose lives he improved and made better.
A fellow classmate through high school
Joyce Allen
December 1, 2016
I am sorry for your loss. May Dr. Delaney rest now and be safe in God's memory.
Marie
December 1, 2016
To Dan:
Please accept my condolences on the death of your brother. It's especially tough when family leaves you too early.
All the best to you and Dee.
Richard Barnes
November 30, 2016
It was with great sadness that I learned of the death of this fine man and true friend. As a former WPH psych nurse, I knew Dr. D. (as I called him) on a professional and personal level. What a class act was this man! For all his accomplishments, he was so down to earth and accessible to all the staff. When I sustained a severe back injury, I will never forget his incredible kindness. The world of medicine will miss him. Deepest sympathy to his lovely wife, his brother and all family and friends. Elizabeth Cuomo (WPh RN retired)
Elizabeth Cuomo
November 29, 2016
So sorry to hear of Dr. Delaney's passing. Enjoyed many years of collaboration and good cheer with him at West Penn. Always with thoughtful advice, encouragement and positive viewpoint. Marveled and admired his love of fine pens and writing instruments. Will miss him.

Ed Sisenwain, Social Worker 1979-2010
Edward Sisenwain
November 29, 2016
May God bless deepest sympathy high school
Chum. Arthur Gerald.
Arthur Gerald
November 29, 2016
Carol French
November 29, 2016
GOIN TO MISS YOU DR. DELANEY.
IM SO SORRY ROSE. MY PRAYERS ARE WITH YOU AND YOUR FAMILY
SHIRLEY STEARN
November 29, 2016
Rose, I am so sorry to hear of John's passing. He was a great mentor to me during my days at Eli Lilly, and was such a "good guy". I will keep you in my prayers.
Bruce Kaufer
November 28, 2016
Rose I am sorry to hear of your loss...my prayers are with you. Always enjoyed when you both came to Casa Doro...he loved the watch shows. Will be thinking of you..
Dee Zokaites
November 28, 2016
Rose, you are in our thoughts and prayers. John was such a wonderful person. I am honored to have known him.
Roseann Rybicki
November 28, 2016
Dr. Delaney was the first doctor to listen to me, take me seriously and treat me as though I was intelligent. I don't think he can be adequately replaced. I am grateful, though, that I got to be his patient for a few years. he caught a previous misdiagnosis that had cost me many years, and a lot of basic stability in terms of housing and financial difficulties. I had been telling doctors this one symptom for years, and had been brushed off. I told Dr. Delaney and his LISTENED, properly diagnosed me and I have had much more stability since then. After years with other doctors, T minutes with Dr. Delaney and everything changed. It was said in his obituary that the world is a better place because he was in it; I can say my world is certainly better because of him, in fact I am not sure what my world would look like without having had him for a doctor. Sometimes the greatest gift is simple acknowledgement, and I am grateful to Dr. Delaney for that, among many other things I can be grateful to him for.
Leigh Anne La Londe
November 28, 2016
He was truly one of the best doctors I have ever been honored to meet. Our sympathy to Dan and Dee and family. Sincerely, Gail and Ken Rowles
Gail and Ken Rowles
November 28, 2016
Rose,
John was a wonderful person. He always thought of others first. I am so sorry for your loss. You are in my thoughts and prayers.
MJ
November 28, 2016
My condolences to Dr. Delaney's family. He has helped me for many years.What a wonderful human being he was. So understanding and compassionate. He really made me feel like he felt my pain. I will truly be lost without his inspiration. Thank you for giving me the strength I have today.You changed my life.May you rest easy Dr. D.God Speed
Barbara Porco
November 28, 2016
I'm so very saddened to hear about this I loved him he was so kind and so understanding, he always listened to everything I had to say and always had good advice I had just spoke with him not too long ago and he said he was doing a little better so very sad my prayers go out to the family your loss is also mine, what a wonderful man:(
Suzanne Yingling (Mendenhall)
November 28, 2016
ROSE, so sorry for your loss. you are in my thoughts and prayers...
REGINA KENNEDY
November 28, 2016
A great man...the world is a little sadder today...my condolences to Rose and his family.
Carol Knox
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences