Joseph Vales
{ "" }
Share
Share Joseph's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Joseph Vales, of Sewickley, died peacefully Sunday, Nov. 20, 2016, surrounded by his family. Joseph was 84 and was predeceased by his wife of 60 years, Gloria. He is survived by his daughter, Maria Dugan, of Cranford, N.J.; son, Joseph A. Vales, of Princeton, N.J.; son, Anthony C. Vales, of Pittsburgh, along with their families and nine grandchildren, Christopher, Anna, Joseph P., Elizabeth, Zachary, Katherine, Sophia, Keaton and Joseph C. Joseph was born in Spain, son of the late Antonio and Maria Vales. He came to this country when he was 14 and settled with his family in Brooklyn, N.Y., where he was valedictorian of his Steubenmuller Textiles High School class. Joseph was a Columbia College graduate and a distinguished alumnus of the A&S executive training program. He was CEO of Ivey's of Florida and Joseph Horne Company of Pittsburgh, and retired as vice chairman of May Company, overseeing numerous retail department store divisions. Joseph was passionate about our country, the beautiful gardens he created, antiquarian books and the arts. An avid music lover, he served as the president of the Board of Directors of the Pittsburgh Opera and on numerous other boards. He was a member of The Edgeworth Club, The Allegheny Club and The Duquesne Club.
Arrangements are by JOHN E. DAY FUNERAL HOME in Red Bank, N.J.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Pittsburgh Tribune Review from Nov. 23 to Dec. 1, 2016.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
NOV
25
Visitation
02:00 - 04:00 PM
NOV
25
Visitation
07:00 - 09:00 PM
NOV
26
Mass of Christian Burial
09:15 AM
NOV
26
Interment
Holmdel Cemetery
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by John E Day Funeral Home
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
13 entries
September 24, 2018
My deepest condolences to the family, may you find comfort and strength from the God of all comfort in this difficult time (Isiah 25:8)
May 19, 2018
May the love of family and friends carry you through your grief. May Gods promise to heal the brokenhearted provide comfort to you until you see your loved one again.
JC
June 24, 2017
Sending my condolences to your family. May prayer be a great comfort to you during this time. 1 Thessalonians 5:17 pray constantly
December 11, 2016
To Tina and family, I saw your fathers obituary a little late. I thought of him and your family often. I know his passing was painful for you, but I know your love got him through this peacefully. Im pretty sure he is in his happier place. God bless you and your family.
Annette Kowal
December 8, 2016
May Mr. Vales rest now and be safe in God's memory.
Marie
November 30, 2016
my prayers to Joe's family - may he be surrounded by his roses again which he tended & cared for under those outside lights after work in Sewickley and Gloria too! He always told his stories with enthusiasm and a robust flair!
Bonnie Moorhead
November 29, 2016
My thoughts and prayers are with the entire Vales family. I'm sorry for your loss.
Chuck Galligan
November 25, 2016
We are so saddened to hear that Joe passed away. He was a class act and we truly enjoyed having him as a neighbor these last 7 years. Our prayers are with your whole family.
The Milo Family
Jorge, Lisa, Jordan, Kelsey & Brianna
Lisa Milo
November 25, 2016
Thanks Joe for the relationship over the years and the great stories you shared.
My sympathy to your family.

Paul DeHart
November 24, 2016
Sorry for your loss, Anthony and all the Vales family. Hope all find peace.
Eileen Wukitch
November 24, 2016
The Spathiphyllum Plant by FTD BASKET INCLUDED
Send Flowers and Gifts
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
a loved one
November 24, 2016
Thinking of you today, Uncle Pepe.
Paco Rodriguez
November 23, 2016
One of the finest people I have ever been associated with..and his yiddish phrases were impeccable. Maria, my sincerest condolences.
joe Firestone
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences