Lena M. DiPaolo
1922 - 2016
{ "" }
Share
Share Lena's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Lena M. (Ciraulo) DiPaolo, 94, of Avalon, native of Johnstown and longtime resident of Plum Borough, passed away peacefully Saturday, Nov. 26, 2016. She was the wife of the late Nunzio V. DiPaolo; loving and devoted mother of Vince DiPaolo (Laurita), of Connellsville, Donna DiPaolo, of Bethesda, Md., and Philip J. DiPaolo, of Avalon; proud Grandma of Daniel DiPaolo, of Boston, Mass., and Sarah DiPaolo (Jay Nichtengale), of San Francisco, Calif. She was preceded in death by her siblings, Phil Ciraulo, Rose Panaia, Christine DeFrank, Ann Colletta and Sam and Joe Ciraulo. Among her surviving nieces and nephews are her godchildren, Carol Yanek and Sharon Wolf. During World War II, Lena served as an air raid warden, worked as a nurse's aide and Girl Scout troop leader, served as president and May Queen of the Sodality, and wrote to many servicemen. Lena's passions in life included children, dancing, music, baking, sewing, crocheting, bowling, and most of all, her family. She donated countless crochet lap robes to charity, with the goal of making the world warmer, one person at a time. Her pizza and cookies were much sought-after and traveled widely, including to California, Canada and Vietnam. As a homemaker, she ventured far from the kitchen and laundry, capably handling painting, yardwork and home repairs. She will be remembered as a devoted mother to all who needed comfort, as an optimist who chose to see the best in others, and as a caring person who believed that the meaning of life was helping others.
Friends will be received from 5 to 8 p.m. Wednesday at the ORION C. PINKERTON FUNERAL HOME INC., 1014 California Ave., Avalon, (412-766-5600). Mass of Christian Burial will be at 10 a.m. Thursday in the Church of the Assumption, Bellevue. Everyone please meet at church.
In lieu of flowers, family suggests memorials to the CASA of Westmoreland County, 2 N. Main St., Greensburg, PA 15601, Fayette County Children & Youth, 130 Old New Salem Road, Uniontown, PA 15401 or any other charity that benefits children.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Pittsburgh Tribune Review from Nov. 29 to Nov. 30, 2016.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
NOV
30
Calling hours
05:00 - 08:00 PM
DEC
1
Mass of Christian Burial
10:00 AM
Church of the Assumption
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Orion C. Pinkerton Funeral Home, Inc.
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
14 entries
September 24, 2018
My deepest condolences to the family, may you find comfort and strength from the God of all comfort in this difficult time (Isiah 26:19)
January 12, 2018
I am deeply sorry for your loss. God has given us a life span of 70 and 80 years if we are strong. Psalms 90:10. May you celebrate a life well lived and loved by many.
AC
December 4, 2016
To Donna and family, I remember your Mom as a loving person who treated me like a member of her family when I went to Pittsburgh one year with you for Mother's Day. It meant the world to me. Years later she sent me a crocheted afghan that I still use frequently. It always makes me think of her and her how thoughtful she was of others.

Chris Torrence
December 3, 2016
To Donna, Phil and the rest of the DiPaolo family -- Jorge and I share in your sorrow at the loss of a woman that lived a rich and inspiring life. To my dear Donnita, you are the daughter that your mom taught well to love and respect all types of people and give your best, as she did. You and Phil and the rest of the family are in our thoughts and prayers at this time. She is now smiling at us all, in a much better place.
Marta and Jorge Varisco - Marson
December 3, 2016
I was very privileged to have known Lena, and also Phil, from Easter Sunday, in Ottawa, Canada, of 1993 and subsequent Easters were spent with Donna (who was my co-worker at the American Embassy), Phil and Lena in Donna's apartment. I became "a member of the family" and celebrated later birthdays of Lena in Pittsburgh, once totally surprising her that I came for her party (which she did not know about) and being a party to the surprise. Lena was one of the kindest, most loving and giving people I have ever known and I consider myself privileged to have been called her "friend." I will miss her and remember many good times with this family. With love, Joan
Joan Douma
December 1, 2016
I am sorry for your loss. May Mrs. DiPaolo rest now and be safe in God's memory.
Marie
December 1, 2016
Donna, Phil, and Vince, We are sorry for your loss of Lena, this very sweet and lively lady, and you are in our thoughts during this time of sadness. Your mother lives on in our hearts and in the many kind ways that she has passed on to you.
Marie and Bill Hoffman
December 1, 2016
Donna, Phil, and Vince: Your mother's easy laugh and sweetness will always live on in the hearts and memories of all those who knew her. She has passed her kind ways on to you so you can treasure each other. You are in our thoughts during these sad days. Marie and Bill, Matt, Kathryn, and Teri
Marie and Bill Hoffman
November 30, 2016
May the God of all Comfort, comfort you and your family, in this your time of need.
November 30, 2016
Donna and phillip, I will always remember your mother lena. She was a sweet lady..May her angel watch over you 2 at this time of sorrow..God Bless you...
Vince J & Amy Caporizzo jr.
November 30, 2016
We will miss her smile and kind ways. But know we are thinking of all now and always. May you remember the best of times, and always know she is with you. Leila and Barry
November 30, 2016
Phil and Donna, distance separates us, but I am with you in spirit to accompany you in your grief and sorrow.
Jenny Masur
November 29, 2016
Vince,

I will be thinking of you and your family during this time of sadness.

God Bless.

Judy Henderson
November 29, 2016
Vince, I offer my condolence. It's hard to lose a loved one. Robin George (robin@winfirst.com)
Robin George
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences