Ryan A. Gloyer
1982 - 2016
{ "" }
Share
Share Ryan's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Sgt. 1st Class Ryan Allen Gloyer, 34, of Zelienople, died courageously in battle in Kunduz, Afghanistan Thursday, Nov. 3, 2016, in support of Operation Freedom Sentinel. Born April 6, 1982, in Torrance, Calif., a beloved son of Lurene W. Gloyer, of Fountain, Colo., and Richard A. Gloyer (Michelle Rossi), of Seven Fields, and fiance, of Sierra Day, of Fountain. Ryan is survived by two brothers, Matthew R. (Michelle) Harris Gloyer, of Orange, Calif., and Justin W. (Marisa) Gloyer, of Santee, Calif. He was the stepbrother of Michael (Anne) LaButis, of Califon, N.J., and Rebecca LaButis, of Pittsburgh. Ryan and his family moved to the northern suburbs of Pittsburgh in 1989 when Ryan was six-years-old. At an early age, Ryan demonstrated a vivid imagination and would frequently dress up and pretend to be a frontiersman, cowboy, American Indian chief or soldier. Around the age of 10, Ryan started wearing camouflage shirts and pants. Ryan's mom gave him a hat with "special forces" printed on the front of the hat. Ryan wore that hat almost every day until middle school, when the letters started to chip off. Ryan kept that hat and today it still hangs in his closet. His interest in the military increased every time he visited "Pop" (Ryan's grandfather), who was a World War II veteran and was wounded during the June 1944 invasion of Normandy. Ryan was intrigued with his grandfather's war souvenirs and fascinated by passages from his war diaries. In high school, Ryan was a good student and athlete, lettering three years in soccer and track. He participated in three school musicals as a dancer. He sang in the choir and was selected for District Chorus. For his senior project, Ryan taught younger students how to break dance. Throughout his high school days, Ryan developed a charismatic, gregarious, animated and fun-loving personality. He was able to make friends across various social groups by possessing a knack for making them laugh with his singing, dancing, impersonations and antics. Ryan graduated from Seneca Valley High School in May 2000. He continued his education at Thiel College, Greenville, where he graduated with magna cum laude honors and received degrees in psychology and early education. He obtained his Pennsylvania teaching certificate after completing his student teaching at a Greenville elementary school. While at Thiel, Ryan continued to participate in musicals, theater, various clubs and in his senior year, was selected to be a resident assistant. His outside reading interests included American history, military history, survivor and outdoorsman magazines and fantasy series books like Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings. He loved all kinds of music, including classical, 40s big band, swing, oldies, contemporary and hip-hop. He loved movies and particularly enjoyed all of the Disney animated films. On Dec. 28, 2004, Ryan enlisted in the Army with orders that would send him to Airborne Jump Qualification School and Special Forces Selection course after graduation from boot camp. He decided on the non-commission officer route rather than OCS, because he wanted to experience all facets of the life of a soldier and believed that the sergeants did the "heavy lifting" and were always in the forefront of the action. From day one of his military career, Ryan had his sights set on becoming a part of an elite unit and had a goal and steadfast determination to be a Green Beret. He wanted to be one of the "best of the best". Ryan possessed unbelievable self-discipline to keep himself in top physical condition throughout his 12-year military career. Although he incurred a couple of setbacks in reaching his goal of being a Green Beret, Ryan did not view them as failures. Instead he viewed them as learning opportunities to improve himself and they strengthened his resolve to achieve his dream. Ryan embraced the concept that anyone can achieve their dream job if they have a strong work ethic to go above and beyond what is required and they possess the self-discipline, courage and fortitude to overcome obstacles and disappointments as well as a never-give-up attitude. In this regard, Ryan was a role model to all in how to achieve what you want in life. Along Ryan's journey to becoming a Green Beret, he went to Ranger School and earned his Ranger Tab in April 2006. He also served with the 82nd Airborne and completed two tours of duty in Afghanistan in 2007 and 2009. During his first 15-month deployment to Afghanistan, Ryan made valorous achievements in support of Operation Enduring Freedom which earned him the Bronze Star Medal with "V" (Valor) device and the Meritorious Service Award. In his second 12-month tour of duty to Afghanistan in 2009, he received the Army Commendation Medal under Task Force Fury. In April 2010, Ryan was selected to be inducted into the prestigious Sergeant Audie Murphy Club for his dedicated leadership, exemplary professionalism and high standards of excellence. In 2013, Ryan tried a 3rd time to complete the Special Forces Selection Course. This time he completed the course and was accepted into the Special Forces 18-month Special Forces Training Program. After 18 months of intensive training and Russian language instruction, Ryan graduated and finally donned his green beret in September 2014, almost 10 years from his enlistment date. It was the proudest moment of his military career. Upon graduation, Ryan attended the John F. Kennedy Special Warfare Center and School to complete Free Fall training. Ryan was then assigned to the 10th Special Forces Group, 2nd Battalion, located at Fort Carson, Colo. In May 2015, Ryan deployed to Republic of Congo; in June 2016, he deployed to Afghanistan for the 3rd time and was scheduled to return home at the end of November. Ryan was awarded a Purple Heart and a 2nd Bronze Star for his heroism during the battle that took his life. Although Ryan's life was short, he lived life to the fullest. He was an inspiration to all who knew him from the 4th grade students he taught in Greenville to the soldiers who trained under his leadership. Ryan led by example and set the standard for what a soldier should be. He dedicated himself to be the best he could possibly be in all he did and encouraged and inspired others to continuously to improve themselves. Ryan also taught us how to enjoy life by entertaining us with his animated personality, stories, historical facts and antics. He was always the life of every party. He truly cared about the men he mentored and trained. He made it his personal duty to not only insure that they were combat ready, but also that they were confident within themselves to live a happy life. He loved his "Brothers", and they in turn loved him back. Ryan truly was one of the "Best of the Best". Ryan's awards and medals include: the Purple Heart, Bronze Star, Bronze Star with "V" (Valor), two Meritorious Service Medals, two Army Commendation Medals, Afghanistan Campaign Medal with Campaign Star, Combat Infantryman Badge, Expert Infantry Badge, Parachutist Badge, Ranger Tab, Special Forces Tab and Sergeant Audie Murphy Club Medallion.
Visitation will be held from 6 to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2016, at the MURPHY FUNERAL HOME, 4510 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22203. Funeral services will be held Wednesday, Nov. 30, 2016, at Fort Myer Memorial Chapel, 101 McNair Road, Fort Myer, VA 22211. Burial with full military honors will follow services in Arlington National Cemetery, Arlington, VA.
In lieu of flowers, donations may be made to Green Beret Foundation, 14402 Blanco Road, Suite 101, San Antonio, TX 78216, www.greenberetfoundation.org.



To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Pittsburgh Tribune Review from Nov. 27 to Nov. 28, 2016.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
NOV
29
Visitation
06:00 - 08:00 PM
NOV
29
Burial
Arlington National Cemetery
NOV
30
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Murphy Funeral Homes
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
35 entries
April 14, 2018
We introduced ourselves to Mr. Gloyer's father and step mother who were sitting in vigil at their son and step son's Arlington Cemetery grave. Our condolences to his brave family.
Juliana L'Heureux
November 2, 2017
Ryan is and will continue to be missed by so many. I worked with his mom Renie, my heart broke for her when I heard the news. I know there are many wonderful memories, may they comfort Ryan's family and friends.
Elaine Lebherz
September 8, 2017
I was there in the TOC that night. I was on The camp with him. Him and Andy. I was there for the ramp ceremony. It was the hardest day of my life to say good bye to Ryan and Andy. Your brothers sent you home with great sorrow, but also with great honor. You will be missed, but the impact you made on this Soldier's life will be forever. Until Valhalla.
May 30, 2017
I also attend Santa Clara Catholic Church. I am honored to tell you so many of us took home your son's name to pray for him. Upon reading his obituary, I was amazed at all he accomplished, his history as a young man, his dedication to our country. You must be so proud. I am very sorry for your loss and know that my prayers will continue for all of you. With respect, Raedene Crossan, Yorba Linda, CA
Raedene Crossan
May 29, 2017
Dear Family of Ryan Gloyer,
I too picked your sons name at Santa Clars de Asis in Yorba Linda, CA.
On this Memorial Day, may you feel the thanks and respect for your son and for raising a son that put his country first.
May God bless you and please know that Ryan, you and his extended family are in my prayers.
With love, appreciation and respect,
Cathy Dicken
Cathy Dicken
May 29, 2017
Hi, My names is Sonie May, and I also was privileged to learn about Ryan through the Santa Clara Church. I am blessed to have this man and hero, Sgt. 1st Class Ryan A. Gloyer, carry orders for us, for our country. I enjoyed learning about Ryan, his childhood hat that he used to wear, the movies, and music he liked, his personality, but most of all, his perserverance and not giving up despite setbacks on achieving his goals. He is someone, I want my children to grow up to be like. Ryan's bravery and courage is an inspiration to me. I am praying for Ryan's family on this special day. Thank you Ryan for protecting us.
Sonie May
May 28, 2017
To The Family Of Ryan Allen Gloyer:
Tomorrow is Memorial Day and I received Ryan's name in a basket at Santa Clara Catholic Church in Yorba Linda, California, which contains the names of all the military personnel who have died in combat since last year's Memorial Day. I was fortunate because I drew Ryan's name and just read his history. He was indeed a man who I would have wanted to have known and served with. I am a Marine who was in Vietnam, and I know of the Brotherhood that was mentioned that we have in the military. But my point of writing this is that I wanted you to know that in my family we are praying not only for Ryan, but also for you, his family, as well. I want you to know that you are all in our thoughts, our hearts, and our prayers.
James Crossan
May 26, 2017
Dear family of Ryan,
I am very sorry to learn of the loss of Ryan. I know he was a good man. I learned about Ryan in my 4th grade Writing class. We learned how these brave young men and women fight for our country. I am very thankful for his service and my freedom in America. Everyday I am proud to be an American because of men like Ryan.
4th Grade Godwin Student
May 15, 2017
Prayer Shawls 4 Fallen Soldiers (ps4fs2@gmail.com) is an organization (formed 2009) with groups throughout the country who work to send handmade prayer shawls and/or lap robes to families who have lost a loved one while serving our country. Members of Trindle Spring Lutheran Church of Mechanicsburg, PA would like to extend our sincere sympathy and to honor your loved one's sacrifice and memory by sending our prayers and comfort through a prayer gift. If you are interested, please contact me at gramman411@gmail.com with the names and addresses of those who would like to receive one and which gift they would like to receive. We will send our gift as soon as possible. Also, if you know of any other families who are grieving the loss of a loved on who died while serving our country, please pass along my e-mail address. May God bless you and comfort you in the days and years ahead. Sincerely, Lynne
Lynne Neibert
January 7, 2017
I shall always remember Ryan as one of my finest students at Thiel College and a superb person. Ryan gave us joy, love, hope while on earth. Now, wonderful memories of Ryan must sustain us. Thank you, Ryan, for serving our great country. Peace be with you and your family. (I just learned about your tragic death in The Bell.) Love, Dr. B.
Betty L Bitner
December 3, 2016
Hello,
We would like to express our deepest condolences and also let the Gloyer Family know that we just made a small donation to the Green Beret Foundation in honor of Ryan A. Gloyer US Army Sergeant 1st Class. We recognize that this is a humble tribute, but we wanted you to know that it is heartfelt and made possible by thousands of like-minded individuals in the youth hockey community and beyond. We will not forget. May God Bless you and keep you safe and strong.
Sincerely,
Charlie Gili & Family
On Behalf of the US Hockey Players Support Our Troops Campaign
charlie gili
November 30, 2016
Just read obituary and I thank you for all you have given for this country. Praying for your friends and family to feel God holding them in His arms through it all with a sense of peace settling over them.
Amy Holland
November 30, 2016
Ryan was such a strong, bright and talented individual. He was a motivating force - always an adventurer. He was truly the funniest person I have ever known. I will miss his impersonations, his laugh, cracking jokes with him and his advice. My thoughts and prayers go out to his family, whom he loved so much and those closest to him who are grieving his loss.
Shannon Reesh
November 29, 2016
Thank you Ryan...
November 29, 2016
Thank you Hero Sgt First Class Ryan Gloyer
I do not know you, but I want to thank you for your service. Thank you for protecting our country, our freedoms.....I wish peace to your family. We honored you today in our MD town. You will not be forgotten.
Beth Francis
November 29, 2016
Thank you for your service and sacrifice, Sir. You will not be forgotten.
American Heritage Girls Troop MD 0414
November 29, 2016
From Queen Anne's County, MD- we thank you for your ultimate sacrifice, Sir. And, we wish your family peace. You will not be forgotten, Sir.
Beth Francis
November 29, 2016
Dick, We are painfully sorry to hear about Ryan. We mourn for you and your Family.He was a true Hero! The Whalen Family.
November 29, 2016
SFC. Ryan Gloyer was one of the most intelligent, bravest, hardest working, and most dedicated soldiers, leaders, and men that I've had the privilege of knowing. He was never my direct leader, but being a lower enlisted soldier in his company, you couldn't help but learn from him. He set the standard for what it meant to be a soldier to everyone around him. No matter the situation SFC. Gloyer would drop whatever he was doing to teach a younger soldier or peer something or help someone out. My condolences go out to SFC. Gloyers mother and father, his peers in 10th Group, his soldiers that served with him from 3rd Platoon, D Co, 4th BCT 82nd, and to all his friends around the world. He was a great man, soldier, and friend to many. He will be missed and will always be remembered.
Anthony Strick
November 28, 2016
What a treasure on earth, you've lost! God Bless you during this most difficult time! Ryan is a true hero and a credit to our well being as U.S. Citizens. God Bless Ryan and his Family, Always!! Thank you for your service & rest in peace knowing you made a BIG difference in this world.
Melissa W.
November 28, 2016
We were privileged to know and work with Ryan during his time in D Co. at Fort Bragg. He will always be fondly remembered not just for his bravery and courage, but also for his kindness and loyalty to others. Thank you for sharing Ryan with us even for a short time because our lives were forever changed for the better for knowing him.
Madoka Mason
November 28, 2016
It was an honored to have served with you. My thoughts and condolences goes for your family. Thanks for sharing your knowledge. You are one of the bravest and most corageous person I have ever met. You will be missed. RIP brother
Edgardo Cuevas
November 28, 2016
not to much I can say but thank you. Ryan was a true hero and my prayers go out to Ryan and his family. god bless
charlie
November 28, 2016
Renie, I'm so sorry to hear about Ryan.
You are in my heart and prayers. Pat Bogacki
November 28, 2016
Although I did not know your family or son, Your son was a fine young man and a credit to the uniform he wore. He is a true hero and his country will long remember his valor. May he rest in peace.
Melissa S.
November 28, 2016
My heart sank when I read this. I went to school with Richard, Ryan's Dad. I thank you so much for your service. My thoughts, prayers and my heart goes out to the entire family of this wonderful young man.May God give you the peace and comfort knowing that so many care.
Linda Cataldo
November 28, 2016
You are Honored young man. With dignity .Fearless men the Green Berets . my heartfelt sympathy. My flag will fly at half staff in your honor . God speed .
Rosemary Baird
November 27, 2016
Your family has been in my thoughts and prayers since learning of Ryan's passing. I remember him fondly as a Resident Assistant, from Fiddler as he danced across the stage and from his smile around campus. He lived well and we are grateful for his sacrifice. Peace and blessing.
Roseanne Gill-Jacobson (Dean G-J)
Roseanne Gill-Jacobsob
November 27, 2016
I did not know Ryan or his family but would like to thank him for his service and protecting our country. I was very moved reading his accomplishments and just needed to say again Thank You for your service.
Toni Hollis
November 27, 2016
From one veteran to an american hero and his family...rest in peace night watcher... thank you for keeping us safe but most of all for showing us how to live, embrace life lessons , and move forward with passion.
Very respectfully...fellow Seneca classmate
Heather Efaw
Heather Efaw
November 27, 2016
I went to school with his father. I cannot imagine the heartache that Richard is experiencing. Ryan, I thank you for your service and for giving your all to protect our country. My prayers go out to you and your family. May your family find peace and comfort. Bless you.
Diane McKeon Friske
November 27, 2016
What a wonderful story of an awesome young man's life. I went to school with Richard. To lose a child is the most painful thing a parent can endure. So so sorry for ur loss. We thank him so much for his service. Sending prayers for Ryan and his entire family. God Bless you all!!!
Joy(ce) Keene(Sweeney)
November 27, 2016
What an incredible story of his young life. He must have been such an inspiration to everyone whose lives he touched. I worked with his mother years back and she couldn't have been more proud of Ryan and knew of his amazing potential. Thank you for your service, Ryan. And bless you, Rene.
Kathi Hurley
November 27, 2016
Our entire community in Centreville, Maryland is aware of Ryan's sacrifice. I read his obituary and thought to myself, "What a very fine young man." My heart breaks for the family, and I send my sincere and heartfelt condolences.
Cathy Downes
November 26, 2016
Amazing story. Thank you for your service!
J. Tray
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences