Mary Ann Popovich
1947 - 2016
{ "" }
Share
Share Mary's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Mary Ann Strager Mamula Popovich, 68, of McKeesport, died Sunday, Oct. 2, 2016, at home. Born Dec. 13, 1947, in McKeesport, she was the daughter of the late George J. "Scottie" and Sophie Munyas Strager, and wife of the late Stoyan Popovich. She was a retired high school French and English teacher in the McKeesport Area School District. She was a member of St. Sava Serbian Orthodox Church, a graduate of Slippery Rock University and was the administrator of civil service exams to police and fire candidates for the City of McKeesport. She was the author of "Thy Perfect Gift", a book of profound prayers and powerful words of wisdom, and told everyone she was a graduate of the George S. Patton School of Tact and Charm (no tact, no charm, I just get the job done).
Friends will be received from 10 to 11 a.m. Wednesday, Oct. 5, 2016, in St. Sava Serbian Orthodox Church. A service will be held there at 11 a.m. with the Very Rev. Stevo Rocknage officiating. Interment will follow in McKeesport and Versailles Cemetery. HUNTER FUNERAL HOME INC., 1600 Coursin St., McKeesport, PA 15132, is in charge of arrangements.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Pittsburgh Tribune Review on Oct. 4, 2016.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
OCT
5
Visitation
10:00 - 11:00 AM
St. Sava Serbian Orthodox Church
OCT
5
Service
11:00 AM
St. Sava Serbian Orthodox Church
OCT
5
Interment
McKeesport and Versailles Cemetery
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Hunter Funeral Home McKeesport
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
17 entries
August 14, 2017
Maryann was my second cousin.i just found out of her passing.stoyans also.she was a great friend to my mother and her and my dad always fought over football.clv.vs pit.my family was saddened to hear of her passing.all my love Maryann.cousin Debbie Munyas.savannah ga
Deborah Munyas
May 24, 2017
I just learned of Mary Ann's passing, I'm so very sorry and sad to get this news.
Mary Ann and I go back app. 15 years. I first met her through a former student, who I was dating at the time. Mary Ann's approval had to be pronounced on me or I was history. Thank goodness Mary Ann liked me. The dating relationship lasted app. 11 years but I stayed in touch with Mary Ann.
She was very devoted to Stoyan ànd a wonderful wife. We had some long phone conversations, and I valued her friendship so very much.
Even though it's been some time since we have crossed paths in person, we stayed in touch.
Goodness she will be missed.
Jeff Nightingale
Friend
October 18, 2016
I light this candle in remembrance of my dear friend and next door neighbor in McKeesport.

We had the privilege of knowing her and her Mom Sophie in the late 1970s and early 1980s; both were an extended part of our family.

Throughout the years we kept in touch. Mary Ann was a very special person with a great sense of humor, keen intellect and huge heart. I sincerely will miss her - rest in peace.
Dean Bosnak
October 10, 2016
We met in McKeesport Tammies when we were about 12. That friendship lasted through my moving to CA, high school & college years then several marriages. There were lots of cards & letters that crossed the country, her visit to CA , long phone calls & my quick trips back to The 'Burgh always with a side stop on Sarah St. I thought we had many more years together, but sadly no more - thank goodness I always told her I loved her. I can still her her voice. McKeesport & I have lost a wonderful friend.
Pat Turkaly Graham
October 7, 2016
Lorraine Shipley
October 5, 2016
She really was a caring and loving woman rest in peace
sherri gray
October 5, 2016
Mary Ann always had a smile on her face, time to listen and a truly kind caring woman. May God Bless her. My thoughts and prayers are with her family at this time.
Joseph Lucot-Brochhausen
October 5, 2016
Mary Ann was a lovely lady. I am glad to have known her.
Louann Wilkie
October 4, 2016
i learned alot from her she was one of the nicest teachers i ever had i will miss her
wendy gilbert
October 4, 2016
This candle is for the most amazing woman I've ever had the pleasure of knowing . She was the most generous person and she had such a Big Heart for animals especially her cats that she treasured. Mrs P will always be in my heart .
Shelly Pudlowski
October 4, 2016
I can only hope you knew as a teacher, how many lives you positively impacted, including mine. I will take care of your Juicy fur baby and know you'd be proud of me for getting the job done, by rehoming all your kitties. God rest your soul.
Amy Artim
October 4, 2016
MAM was one of my favorite high school teachers! She was definitely one of a kind! I never have forgotten her and never will? She was a very special and wonderful woman! Rest in Peace!
Tamara Mann
October 4, 2016
She was a memorable teacher of mine back in HS. She was one of my favorites. I will always remember her fondly. Rest in peace.
Kellie Champ
October 4, 2016
Our hearts and prayers go out to the family.May she rest in peace.
Kathleen Mcneal Rousseau
October 4, 2016
I have fond memories of Mrs. Popovich from my high school English class. She is one of the teachers who have often crossed my mind, she will be missed and remembered. My deepest condolences to her family.

Love,
Chere Williams
October 4, 2016
I light this candle for one of the most amazing women I know. She did so much for me and my family. She made me feel as if we were a part of her family. She was a second mother to me. Her generosity was above and beyond anyone I have ever known, to both people and animals. Everyone she touched loved her to the moon and back . She will forever be in my heart. She will be missed so very much as I loved her to the moon and back.
Lauree McNatt
October 4, 2016
Mrs. Pop was a fiery, spunky character, and a teacher that I only had the privilege of learning from for a short period time. Even so, she still made her mark. I hope her family & friends know she's still thought of fondly! Thanks Mrs. Pop!
Leah Rossi
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences