Erik J. Honse
1972 - 2016
{ "" }
Share
Share Erik's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Erik Joseph Honse, 44, of Ruffsdale, was called to be with the Lord on Friday, Sept. 2, 2016. He was born July 1, 1972, in Jeannette, a son of Cathleen Rhodes Honse, of South Greensburg, and the late William R. Honse. In addition to his father, he was predeceased by his grandparents, William J. and Helga S. Honse and William "Buster" Rhodes and Nellie Rhodes Salvatore; uncles, Donald R. Honse and Mark M. Rhodes; and an aunt, Nora Zimmerman. Another aunt, Teresa Lynn Rhodes, has been missing since 1975. He was a beautiful, helpful soul and all who knew him loved him. Everyone admired his work ethic, his handsome looks, his charismatic personality and his many talents. Unfortunately, Erik was caught up in the web of addiction, and had actually been clean for many months before a powerful strain of heroin cut his life short. Erik was employed as a master auto technician at E-Z Fix, in Ruffsdale. He took great pride in his work, and was highly valued by his employer. Erik worked for decades in this field to which he was truly dedicated. He raced cars at Keystone Raceway and won many trophies. He loved fishing, camping and listening to a variety of music. His winning personality gained him friends wherever he went; and, he will be unequivocally missed. In addition to his mother, he is survived by a son, Erik W. "Little E" Honse; his big brother, Jason W. (Kim) Honse; a niece and nephew, Jenna Rae Honse and Billy Honse; two aunts, Loretta Lee Zundel and Gloria Rhodes Casale; four uncles, Glenn E. Honse, Charles R. Honse, William D. "Byrd" Rhodes and Joseph A. Rhodes; and a host of loving cousins and devoted friends, including Little E's mother, Natalie Duffy. Erik shared his home with his girlfriend. The family wishes to thank the doctors, nurses and medical staff of the 6th floor ICU at Excela Westmoreland and Greg Moorhead, RN, from CORE for their professionalism in caring for Erik.
Family and friends will be received from 4 to 8 p.m. Tuesday at the BARNHART FUNERAL HOME, 505 E. Pittsburgh St., Greensburg. A funeral service will be held at 11 a.m. Wednesday in the funeral home. Interment will follow in Westmoreland County Memorial Park, Greensburg.
In lieu of flowers, those who wish to donate a monetary gift of support for Erik's son, "Little E," may do so through the family (either Jason or Cathi). For online condolences, visit BarnhartFuneralHome.com.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Tribune Review from Sep. 4 to Sep. 6, 2016.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
SEP
6
Visitation
04:00 - 08:00 PM
SEP
7
Funeral service
11:00 AM
SEP
7
Interment
Westmoreland County Memorial Park
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Barnhart Funeral Home
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
20 entries
September 29, 2018
I knew Eric for many years when we were young, and I always remember him being a nice, friendly person who was easy to get along with and was well-liked by everyone who knew him. I offer our most sincerest sympathies from my family to yours in these troubling times, and may he rest in peace.

Joe Demis, Pinellas Park FL
Joseph Demis
September 7, 2016
Our thoughts and prayers go out to Erik and all his family and friends. We experienced a similar family loss and we wish we could ease your grief.
Mark and Courtney DeCarlucci
September 6, 2016
Cathi---- my deepest sympathy to you and your family on the passing of your son . I admire your courage and determination in warning others about the consequences of this fatal addiction. May god comfort you during this difficult time, and may Eric rest in peace !
Jerry Bahnak
September 6, 2016
My prayers are with you and yours. Erik was a good hearted man. He will be missed by many. stay true my friend till we meet again.
karen swearingen-weyandt
September 5, 2016
I saw the love in your eyes every time you spoke of your boys. I am so sorry for your loss~ Vonnie
September 5, 2016
Dearest Cathi -- losing a child is something I cannot fathom. I admire your strength and courage through this terrible time. Thinking of you, Jason and all your family.
Sue Hughes
September 5, 2016
Deepest Sympathy, We Understand, Our Family As Well.
September 5, 2016
May your beautiful light shine forever you are a beautiful person and will be truly missed.
KAT & his wife
September 5, 2016
My dear cousin Cathi, we are so very sorry for your loss. If you need anything, please feel free to ask. Hugs and prayers.
Marlene, Michael and Freddy
September 5, 2016
Sincere blessings to Erik's family and friends.
Linda Tanyer Haluck
September 4, 2016
To a great friend who is gone but will never be forgotten there are a lot of cherished memories that I will always remember in rememberance of you and our deepest sympathy to the family for this loss of a wonderful man and dear friend.
John & Amy Stephen
September 4, 2016
Cathi,
I was so very sorry to learn of your loss. I pray the Lord will give you peace and supernatural strength during this time and the days ahead.
Lynn Lakin Birt
Lynn Birt
September 4, 2016
I will never forget that Summer we visited, and Erik had an electric blue mohawk, the days we spent playing Super Mario Bros at Uncle Bill's, or the wonderful warmth of his smile. Erik, even though you were over 10 years older than us, you always found some spare time to spend with us during Summer break. My deepest sympathies and regards to Aunt Cathi, Cousin Jason and the rest of the extended family and friends.
Jaime Henry
September 4, 2016
May the light from your life, flicker in the hearts of those who love you, forever and always.
Jaime Henry
September 4, 2016
I will never forget that
Summer we visited, and Erik had an electric blue mohawk. The days spent playing Super Mario Bros in the living room at Uncle Bill's. Even though you were over a decade older, you always found some spare time to spend with us over Summer break. My heart is with you Aunt Cathi, as well as the rest of the family. Much love. Rest peacefully my beautiful cousin. Give my love to Granny and Uncle Bill <3
Jaime Henry
September 4, 2016
Frank and i are praying for you. May the good Lord give you strength
Bonnie Stumme
September 4, 2016
So sorry for your loss Cathi, Byrd and Joey. Blessings of the Universe to you all and your family. Carol Duprey (Sheri's Mom)
September 4, 2016
My deepest condolences to Cathi's family and friends. May he rest in peace. Thank you Cathi for sharing his story. Love you-Weezie
Louise Widdows
September 4, 2016
My sincerest condolences to Cathi and her family.
Dom Palmieri
September 4, 2016
Eugene J. Bienia Sympathy to family.
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences