Lawrence J. Lapina
{ "" }
Share
Share Lawrence's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Lawrence J. "Larry" Lapina, 74, born in Jeannette to John and Katherine (Felentzer) Lapina, passed away peacefully Tuesday, Feb. 16, 2021. He is survived by his loving family; wife, Gayle Lapina, of Greensburg, daughters, Joy Lapina, of Irwin, and Valerie Lapina (Eric Yarbrough), of Greensburg, stepchildren, Lisa and husband, Russ Matt, of Jeannette, Gerard "Bucky" Birk, of Jeannette, Joey Birk, of Jeannette, and Terri and husband, Rob Tiberi, of Hampstead, Md., sister, Kathleen (John) Allen, brothers, Terry Lapina and Bill Lapina, and numerous nieces and nephews. He was preceded in death by his brother, John (Jack) Lapina and beloved wife, Caren Lapina. Larry retired from Omnova Solutions in Jeannette, and was a volunteer fireman in Jeannette for many years. He loved to golf and was especially proud of hitting two holes-in-one in his lifetime. He also enjoyed bowling, walking in the woods, fields and beach, gardening and traveling. He loved Pittsburgh sports, Penguins hockey most of all. He escaped Pennsylvania winters in Myrtle Beach each year, and was happiest spending time with friends and family. Always quick with a smile and joke for everyone, he will be dearly missed. A memorial service will be held at a later date. MASON-GELDER FUNERAL HOME INC., Jeannette, is entrusted with arrangements.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Tribune Review from Feb. 23 to Feb. 24, 2021.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
No memorial events are currently scheduled. To offer your sympathy during this difficult time, you can now have memorial trees planted in a National Forest in memory of your loved one.
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Mason-Gelder Funeral Home Inc
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
15 entries
February 24, 2021
Our prayers and sympathies are with Gayle and family
Anne & Mark Persichetti
February 24, 2021
Dear Gayle,
We were so sorry to hear of Larry’s passing. Please know that you are in our thoughts and prayers at this difficult time. Hoping you and your family find peace and comfort in the days ahead. Jimmy & Saundra Singer
Saundra Singer
Friend
February 24, 2021
You were and are loved and missed by many.
Ann Standish
Family
February 23, 2021
Our condolences to the Lapina family and Gayle.

Randy Hartung
February 23, 2021
Sorry for the loss of this great guy he was loved by all family members
Lisa Peltier
Family
February 23, 2021
So sorry for your loss Gayle. I know how happy you were together.
Kathy Dunmire
Friend
February 23, 2021
Gail,
We are so sorry for your loss. Know you and the family are in our prayers.

In Christ,
Phil and Sandy
Phil and Sandy Byrd
Friend
February 23, 2021
Gayle I'm so sorry for your loss our thoughts and prays are with you and your family ❤
Andy & April Ball (Mary & Ceberts daughter)
APRIL BALL
Friend
February 23, 2021
Mary and I met Larry and Gayle in January of 2012 while they were escaping the cold Pennsylvania winters in North Myrtle Beach. We became instant friends and enjoyed all of our time together each year. The four of us took many beach walks. The girls always walked faster than Larry and myself because we were solving all the worlds problems. He will be truly missed.
Cebert And Mary Morgan
Friend
February 23, 2021
Gayle. We are so sorry to hear about your loss. I know how much you enjoyed golfing together. We would see you two often. Thinking of you
Doris Kebe
Friend
February 23, 2021
Joy- I am so sorry to hear about your Dad. You and your family are in my prayers. It’s been awhile since we’ve worked together at ATI but I have nice memories of our time there. Please reach out to me if you need anything.
Angela M Kauffman
Coworker
February 23, 2021
What a lovely tribute to Larry. We enjoyed he and Gayle’s company here in North Myrtle Beach SC. He will be missed!
Phil and Sandy Byrd
Sandy Byrd
Friend
February 23, 2021
Deepest sympathy to the classmates and family of Larry. He was a joy to be around and he will be deeply missed. May he Rest in Peace
Marlene Kidd
Classmate
February 23, 2021
DEEPEST SYMPATHY ON YOUR LOSS OF LARRY. A GREAT CLASSMATE WHO ALWAYS HAD A SMILE FOR EVERYONE. HE WILL BE MISSED.MAY HIS MEMORY BE ETERNAL. DIANE AND DANNY ZANARINI
DAN AND DIANE ZANARINI
Friend
February 23, 2021
Gayle,
I am so sorry for your loss. Larry will be missed, May he Rest in Peace,

Gloria Bresnan
Gloria Bresnan
Friend
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences