Patricia B. Salai
1955 - 2020
{ "" }
Share
Share Patricia's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Patricia B. Salai, of Hunker, was born July 2, 1955, in Wheeling, W.Va., to Bernard W. Baltz and Dorothy Siburt Baltz. Patti passed away Monday, Nov. 23, 2020, due to COVID complications. She was 65 and died at Westmoreland Hospital. Patti attended John Marshall High School, where she was an excellent student, who had a natural ability to build lifetime friendships by being a caring, thoughtful, selfless friend to many of all ages. She was active in a broad spectrum of extra-curricular activities including her favorite of being an accomplished musician (on trumpet) in the JMHS band and the Wheeling "Junior Symphony". After graduation, Patti began her professional career as a diploma nurse from Wheeling Hospital, and then went to WVU for her bachelor of science of nursing, graduating in 1976. She continued working while obtaining her master's degree, also from WVU as a nurse practioner and clinical nurse specialist in 1985. She began her nephrology NP career at WVU. She left there in 1987 and moved to Pittsburgh to work at the VA Medical Center in the dialysis unit where, she dedicated the next 30 years of her career providing excellent care to our nation's heroes as an NP/CNS until her retirement in July of 2017. Her specialty was in nephrology where she initiated numerous programs that enhanced the health of veteran's with kidney disease. She was an active member of the American Nephrology Nursing Association (ANNA), holding many leadership positions in the local, regional and national chapters of the organization. She was the founding member and first president of the Three Rivers Chapter. Her peers state "She was a dynamic nursing leader who made things happen by being a risk taker while working tirelessly and building teams of knowledgeable workers. Patti's influence on expanding the role of nephrology nursing will be missed. She was a leader in an environment and at a time when we needed brave, skilled and professional nurses to show us the way." Patti was a prolific nurse educator and scholar, publishing many articles in the Nephrology Nursing Journal and medical texts. She received numerous national awards and was sought after by "headhunters", even after retirement, for her knowledge and expertise in her field. On a personal note, Patti loved to go "crafty junk shopping" with her friends, antique stores and shopping for "hidden treasures" often to resell. She loved her two "fleatique stores" and finding and making items to stock them. She also loved making jewelry and re-purposing items. She loved going to the beach with her friends. Most of all she loved her son, Alex, who was the light of her life. She loved watching him grow into a God-centered young man, playing in-line and ice hockey and watching "The Office" with him. Unfortunately she will not be here to see him graduate and follow in her foot steps as a nurse. She was a dear friend to many, a caring nurse, a great wife, and an even better mother, and is already sorely missed. She now resides with the rest of the angels. "Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints," (Psalm 116:15). Patti was a breast cancer survivor. She is survived by her loving husband, Thomas A. Salai, a son, Alex N. Salai, of Hunker, brother, Neal Baltz and wife, Julie, of Palatine, Ill., two nephews, Josh Baltz and wife, Chana, of Geneva, Ill., and David Baltz, of Naperville, Ill., a niece, Claire Baltz, of Lombard, Ill.; and a great-niece, Raelyn. Friends will be received from 3 to 9 p.m. Friday, Nov. 27, 2020, at the C. RICHARD McCAULEY FUNERAL HOME INC., Youngwood. Additional visitation will be held from 10 to 11 a.m. Saturday in Heritage Baptist Church, Jeannette, at which time there will be a funeral service. Interment will follow at Greenridge Memorial Park. Thanks to the dedicated and professional staff at The Excela/ Westmoreland ICU for their love, patience and care of Patti during her month long stay there.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Tribune Review from Nov. 25 to Nov. 28, 2020.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
NOV
27
Calling hours
03:00 - 08:00 PM
NOV
28
Visitation
10:00 - 11:00 AM
Heritage Baptist Church
NOV
28
Funeral service
11:00 AM
Heritage Baptist Church
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by C Richard McCauley Funeral Home
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
16 entries
November 28, 2020
My thoughts and prayers are with you and Alex during this difficult time. May your loving memories being you comfort in the days ahead.
Kathie Tanyer
Friend
November 28, 2020
To Patti’s Husband, Son & family,
I haven’t seen Patti for awhile but had heard from her when my mom passed 2 years ago. We became friends at Union Jr. High & that friendship continued until she moved away. Her obituary brought back many good memories of ice skating, music & hanging out in the commons between classes at JMHS. We both became nurses & served our communities in different ways. I’m so sorry for your loss & just wanted to say she will always have a special place in my memories as a beloved friend.
Patty Skaggs Owens
Friend
November 27, 2020
Patti was a kind and loving friend. I was fortunate enough to be her officemate for a few years at VAPHS. We laughed so hard and I adored our friendship. She had such a beautiful spirit filled with God’s love and mercy. I am so sorry for your loss.
Megan Tritt
Coworker
November 27, 2020
Eternal Affection Arrangement- BASKET INCLUDED
Send Flowers and Gifts
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
Megan Tritt
November 26, 2020
Eternal Friendship Remembrance Bouquet - VASE INCLUDED
Send Flowers and Gifts
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
a loved one
November 25, 2020
Eternal Affection Arrangement- BASKET INCLUDED
Send Flowers and Gifts
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
Richard Edwards
November 25, 2020
Dear Tom and Alex
My heart was very sad today when I read about Patty's passing. We always enjoyed a laugh or two when she came into the office.
Our deepest sympathy to you both!
Paula Walker
PAULA WALKER
Acquaintance
November 25, 2020
I grew up with Patti in McMechen and we often walked to school together, stopping at her grandmother’s for hot cocoa in the winter. Her parents used to take us ice skating at Wheeling Park. As happens in life, we lost touch but had reconnected on Facebook several years ago. Alex, it was so apparent how much your Mom adored you from her posts. She loved you & your Dad and your family. I was not surprised at all she accomplished professionally as she was always driven and very smart. My deepest sympathy to you in your loss. Prayers of comfort and strength for you both in the days & weeks ahead.
Charlene Hall
Friend
November 25, 2020
I grew up with Patti in McMechen and we often walked to school together, stopping at her Grandmother Baltz’s for hot chocolate. Her parents would often take us ice skating at Wheeling Park. As happens, life took us in different directions but we had reconnected on Facebook. My deepest sympathy to Tom. & Alex. From her postings it was so obvious she loved both of you so much. Prayers of comfort and strength for Patti’s family, including Neil. Such a terrible loss and far too young, Rest In Peace, Patti.
Charlene Hall
Friend
November 25, 2020
DEAR TOM AND ALEX,
MY HEART GOES OUT TO YOU WITH THE TRAGIC LOSS OF PATTI. SHE WAS A REMARKABLE WOMAN AND FRIEND. I’M SURE YOU WILL MISS HER AS WELL AS I. YOU HAVE MY DEEPEST DEEPEST SYMPATHY. HER MEMORY WILL LIVE FOREVER,MAY SHE REST IN PEACE.
PATTY NICOLETTA
PATTY NICOLETTA
Friend
November 25, 2020
Eternal Affection Arrangement- BASKET INCLUDED
Send Flowers and Gifts
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
Eugenio Marotta
November 25, 2020
Group of 10 Memorial Trees
Plant Memorial Trees
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
Jennifer Sausman
November 25, 2020
May your hearts soon be filled with wonderful memories of joyful times together as you celebrate a life well lived. Tom and family,my deepest sympathy...Karen Cunningham
Karen Cunningham
Friend
November 25, 2020
In Loving Memory of Patti,

When someone you love becomes a memory, the memory becomes a treasure. Patti will always be a treasured friend. We started our nursing graduate program together at WVU and quickly became best buddies. We shared life’s up’s and down since that time. We got together often as we could to shop for things to make crafts and to resell at the fleatiques (her little stores). She was also my hockey buddy going to Pens games when she could. But most of all we got together to talk and laugh and share life. Patti was the best mother, wife, nurse and friend. Alex you are the light of her life. She was so proud of the man that you have become. Tom and Alex, Neil and Julie and family, you are all in our thoughts and prayers.

Love
Deb, Emily, MeiMei, Albert
Deb Lewis
Friend
November 24, 2020
Pastel Peace Basket
Send Flowers and Gifts
Sympathy Gift courtesy of
Deborah Lewis
November 24, 2020
I am so grieved to hear of Patti’s death from COVID. I worked with her and the whole nephrology team at the VA as their social worker. She was so dynamic, and willing to help anyone. Being new to nephrology, she was a great asset to me. People like Patti will be greatly missed. She left her mark in the nursing world and in many hearts. RIP, Patti.
Mary Ann Hart
Coworker
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences