Roberta Brown
1933 - 2021-01-11
{ "" }
Share
Share Roberta's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Roberta "Ferne" Brown, 87, of Mt. Pleasant, passed away Monday, Jan. 11, 2021 at UPMC Presbyterian Hospital, Pittsburgh, with her loving family by her side. Roberta was born Aug. 17, 1933, in Bullskin Township, the daughter of the late Homer and Millie Kastner Kreinbrook. Ferne was a 1950 graduate of Ramsay High School. She was dedicated to the American Legion Auxiliary, joining in 1968 and later becoming a lifetime member. Her highest office was the state elected office of Westmoreland County District President, having served that title for many terms. She held various offices as a Westmoreland County Council member. Since joining the James E. Zundell unit in 1994, she held the office of president for 25 years. Surviving are her children, Roberta Johnson (Dan), of Mill Run, Carol Bish (Dan), of Erie, Shirley Arrotti (Tim), of Scottdale, Amy Keslar (Richard), of Mt. Pleasant, and Jeffrey Brown (Ann), of Michigan; 12 grandchildren; 25 great-grandchildren and two great-great-grandchildren; a brother-in-law, Elmer Brown Jr. (Kathy); and sisters-in-law, Louise Freed (Harrold) and Jean Brown. In addition to her parents, Ferne was preceded in death by her husband of 68 years, Stanley E. Brown; brothers, Wilmer, Oliver, Ebbert, Earl and Delmer Kreinbrook; and sisters, Edith Dolan, Rachael Finn and Hilda Biller. Visitation for family and friends will be held from 5 to 7 p.m. Friday at the Mt. Olive Evangelical Church, 363 Pleasant Valley Road, Connellsville, PA 15425, where services will be held at 7 p.m. with Pastor Lee Maley, officiating. Arrangements are under direction of SALOOM-REGA FUNERAL SERVICE, 730 W. Main St., Mt. Pleasant. Please visit Ferne's online memorial at www.saloom-rega.com to sign the condolence guestbook. Richard Rega, funeral director.



To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Tribune Review from Jan. 13 to Jan. 14, 2021.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
JAN
15
Visitation
05:00 - 07:00 PM
JAN
15
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Saloom-Rega Funeral Service
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
15 entries
January 17, 2021
My deepest sympathy to Ferne's family on her passing. She was kind and always pleasant when we met each other. "To live in hearts we leave behind is not to die."
Jane Kreinbrook-Lauffer
Family
January 16, 2021
My deepest respect to a great lady. Fern had a great wealth of knowledge which she shared with me when I was a new officer in County Council. Fern, Stanley, and I had great times traveling for Auxiliary events. Fern was a proud matriarch of her family. My condolences to Fern's loved ones.

Former Slickville Unit 018 President and Past President of Westmoreland
County Council,
Elcye
Elcye McAlpine
Acquaintance
January 16, 2021
Amy, so sorry we missed your mother's service so we could pay our respects. You and your family are in our prayers.
Kevin and Sherry Fowler
Friend
January 16, 2021
So sorry to hear about you passing, You were my neighbor from 2004 to 2008@Pleasant Acres, but every time one I seen you when I was working at Walmart ,we always talked, you were such a lovely lady,
Darlene Fowler
Friend
January 15, 2021
Roberta, Carol, Shirley, Amy & Jeff - you have my deepest sympathy on the loss of your wonderful mom. I was remembering all the times we spent together when we were young. I'm so sorry I can't make it to Mt Olive tonight, please know I'll be thinking and praying for all of you.
Tracy Snyder-Craig
Family
January 14, 2021
My deepest sympathy to the family. Ferne was a dear person, and a great (Legion Auxiliary) mentor to me. Memory Eternal. Ann Quinn
January 13, 2021
Our sympathies to the family in this time of loss and sorrow. God bless.
Ron and Kathy Brown
Friend
January 13, 2021
Sincere Sympathy, from Dr. Geoffrey Monsour's office, and staff, Bobbie Laciak, Barb Orris, and MaryAnn DelGross,,,
MaryAnn DelGross
Friend
January 13, 2021
Thank You Fern and God Bless for your devoted service to Post 446.
Doug Walker Past Commander James E Zundell Post 446
Douglas Walker
Friend
January 13, 2021
Our fondest memories of Ferne and Stanley were at Nannies picnics. They always seemed like family. Wonderful couple. And wonderful family. Loved her smile
Karen and Dane Tressler
Friend
January 13, 2021
I'm proud to be part of your family
Dan Bish
January 13, 2021
Sorry to hear of your mom's passing. Many fond memories of her, your dad and your family from growing up. Deepest Sympathy.
Dick Snyder
Dick Snyder
January 12, 2021
You will be missed so much.
Marcia Fuoss Fuoss
Family
January 12, 2021
My deepest condolences to Aunt Carol, Uncle Dan & the entire family. Love, Debbie G
Debbie Gibbons Gibbons
January 12, 2021
Our thoughts and prayers are with the family !
Denny & Kathy Ulery
Family Friend
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences