Sara J. Yates
1937 - 2021
{ "" }
Share
Share Sara's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Sara Jane "Sally" (Sherbondy) Yates passed away peacefully at her home Monday, Jan. 11, 2021. Born Oct. 5, 1937, Sally lived an adventurous and full life and never wanted to slow down. She enjoyed traveling to see her family and friends across the United States as well as joining friends locally in one of their music jams. Sally was a great friend to many and will be remembered for her love of cooking, baking and taking care of others. A graduate of South Huntingdon High School Class of 1955 and West Penn School of Nursing Class of 1958, Sally worked for many years for both West Penn and Dr. Philip J. Reilly, in Smithton. She was an active member of the Winnett United Methodist Church, holding board positions and supporting their many fundraisers. Sally was preceded in death by her husband, John W. Yates, parents, Frances (Bennett) and Irwin Sherbondy, and sister, Mary Ruth Holtz. She is survived by her daughters, Heidi (Nick) Iacovino, Heather (Tom) Culley and Hayley (Dan) Gbur, as well as seven cherished grandchildren, Morgan and Steven Iacovino, Trever (Emily), Evan and Grace Culley and Eva and Carlton "Pudge" Gbur. A private family memorial is planned with a larger memorial celebration to be determined once Covid-19 restrictions are lifted. In lieu of flowers, please consider sending donations to the Winnett United Methodist Church, P.O. Box 390, Smithton, PA 14579.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Tribune Review on Jan. 13, 2021.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
No memorial events are currently scheduled. To offer your sympathy during this difficult time, you can now have memorial trees planted in a National Forest in memory of your loved one.
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by L L Barthels Funeral Home Inc
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
17 entries
January 18, 2021
Sally was a genuine great friend to many.She was a wonderful neighbor to my family and I.So deeply sorry for your loss Heidi.Heather .& Haley.My thoughts and prayers are with you all.Gods Peace.
Stacy Theakston
Friend
January 16, 2021
"SALLY" ... a dear late life friend and care giver ... loved her family ... loved music ... loved to cook ... glad to have had her Spirit and footprints in my life ... will be greatly missed ... my sympathies extended to family and friends ...
BOB LANDESS
Friend
January 15, 2021
May God bless you and your family in this time of sorrow. Sending you prayers for comfort.
Lynn Davis-Matsick
Lynn Davis-Matsick
Friend
January 14, 2021
Sally was an amazing lady. I had the pleasure of working with her at SPHS. We shared many laughs and good times. My thoughts and prayers are with you all.
Jodi Cain
Coworker
January 14, 2021
Sally was my mother's cousin. She always told it like it was ,never to mince words. A really Fun loving woman and we were so fortunate to have her in our family. She will be missed but we will have a lot of great memories.
Dawn Swaney Kott
Family
January 13, 2021
Condolences to Heidi, Heather, Haley, and your families on Sally’s passing.... so sorry for your loss.
Joni Powell
January 13, 2021
Heidi, Heather and Haley so sorry to hear of your mom's passing. I know she will be missed! Love Pam and family
Pam (Yates) Mohl
Family
January 13, 2021
Heidi, Heather, and Hailey, so sorry to hear of your mom's passing. I know she will be missed! Love Pam and family
Pam (Yates) Mohl
Family
January 13, 2021
So sorry to read of Sally's passing! I remember her from my childhood going to Dr. Reilly's and she was a wonderful friend of my parents! Prayers and sympathies to her family!
Darlene Govern (Rev. Herbie and Sarah Peterson's daughter)
January 13, 2021
You have our deepest sympathy on the loss of your mom/grandmother. She will definitely be missed and we were sad when we heard about her passing. We will miss her email updates that she shared with her classmates.
Lorraine & Michele Margie
Friend
January 13, 2021
Heidi, Heather and Hayley, I am so sorry for your loss. Your Mom was an amazing person. She stood by my Mom threw everything that came along. How she got my Mom on a plane is still unbelievable! Her quick wit always was a surprise to me. Sally will be missed by us left behind but know my Mom is soooo happy to have her friend with her! Love to you all!
Debbie Hagerman McGeary
Friend
January 13, 2021
My deepest sympathy to the family, I was so glad to see Sally at our moms birthday party back in October, she was always kind and we all enjoyed the times over the years seeing her, she will be missed. Tom Hoburn
Thomas Hoburn
Family
January 13, 2021
Heidi, Heather, and Haley, I'm so very sorry to hear of your Moms passing. I always enjoyed talking to her and wish now I would have gotten to talk to her more at my Moms party in Oct. She will be missed. Take care . Love Roxanne Hoburn Hayes.
Roxanne Hoburn Hayes
Family
January 13, 2021
Sally was a great classmate and friend. She loved us all, and kept us all together. We will miss her communications letting us all know how the others were doing and the latest in good or bad news. Also her jokes. A great gal remembered fondly by her class. You will be missed.
Fred and Marge Teacher
Classmate
January 13, 2021
So sorry for your loss your mother was a wonder person and the best friend my mother could have had, she will certainly be missed .
Mary Borello
Friend
January 13, 2021
Heidi, Heather and Hailey so sorry for your loss your mother was such a wonderful person and the best friend my mother could have had she will surely be missed.
Mary Hagerman-Borello
January 12, 2021
You will be missed Sally. Sending love from Minnesota. Love Cody and Gwendelynn.
Cody
Family
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences