Sister M. Arthur Tipping
{ "" }
Share
Share M.'s life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Sister M. Arthur Tipping (Mary Anne Tipping), 87, a Pittsburgh Sister of Mercy for 69 years, died Saturday, Feb. 27, 2016, at the Convent of Mercy, Pittsburgh. Born in Pittsburgh, she was a daughter of Francis and Rhoda (Carl) Tipping, Sister Arthur entered the Sisters of Mercy from St. Colman's in Turtle Creek in 1947 and made final vows in 1952. Sister Arthur earned a B.S. degree in elementary education, with a major in biology from Mt. Mercy College (now Carlow University) and began her teaching career in Pittsburgh area Catholic elementary schools, including Our Lady of Lourdes, St. Regis, St. Peter, Northside and John F. Kennedy in Washington, Pa. Sister Arthur taught at Sisters of Mercy sponsored schools in Puerto Rico, and upon her return she taught at St. Colman, Turtle Creek, later becoming principal there until her retirement. There was a mutual admiration among Sister Arthur and her students. Sister Arthur always wanted to be a farmer, but the Lord had other plans for her. So, she answered the Lord's call, and became a Sister of Mercy. In a write up for Sister Arthur's 60th Jubilee, Sister Rosemary Flaherty (now deceased) wrote the following: "Someday, St. Isidore, patron of farmers, will greet Sister Arthur with the joys of her heavenly home. Hopefully, there will be a patch of ground in heaven so Arthur can cultivate a lovely garden of vegetables and flowers. Then, as now, her family and friends will reap the beautiful harvest she had planted throughout her life." It was most evident to Sisters and lay people alike that Sister Arthur had a beautiful smile and joy of heart. Preceded in death by her parents, Sister Arthur is survived by a sister, Jean Stettler (David), of Dallas, Texas; brothers, Francis (Joy), of Harmony, and Vincent (Joann), of Turtle Creek; many devoted nieces, nephews and cousins, especially the Rev. Thomas Manion.
Friends will be received from 1 to 8 p.m. Wednesday, March 2, 2016, at the Convent of Mercy, 3333 Fifth Ave. Funeral Mass will be celebrated at 11 a.m. Thursday, March 3, 2016, in the Chapel at the Convent of Mercy, followed by interment in the St. Xavier's Cemetery, Latrobe. Arrangements entrusted to the EDWARD P. KANAI FUNERAL HOME, 500 Greenfield Ave.
In lieu of flowers, donations may be made to the Sisters of Mercy, 3333 Fifth Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15213 or the Carlow University Scholarship Fund.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Tribune Review from Mar. 1 to Mar. 2, 2016.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
MAR
2
Visitation
01:00 - 08:00 PM
MAR
3
Funeral Mass
11:00 AM
Chapel at the Convent of Mercy
MAR
3
Interment
St. Xavier's Cemetery
Funeral services provided by
Order by phone: (866) 764-7853
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Edward P Kanai Funeral Home
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
16 entries
March 5, 2016
I am blessed to have been lucky enough to know Sister Arthur, she was a great teacher, and a great person who let her brilliant smile and happiness wash over those around her. She calmed my nerves as I served my first mass as an alter boy " just walk slow and look holy " she got me through my first frog dissection , and years later, danced at my wedding. This world is not as bright without her. She will be missed by all those lives she touched and made better. She was a farmer, as she helped us all grow.
Paul Pillage
March 5, 2016
Sister Arthur was principal at St Colman's while our boys were there. She had such a warm heart and love for the children(and we moms and dads)! I have so many wonderful memories of volunteering at the school. She always had a warm smile and a hug even on the toughest days. Sister was a strong advocate for the school and the children even when her funding was slashed and she had to create miracles out of dust. We will be saying a special prayer for a very special lady.
Audrey Kullman
March 2, 2016
Sister Arthur had a huge heart and truly cared for her children. She was my principal at St Colman. I am sincerely grateful to have known such a beautiful person. May she rest peacefully.
Amanda
March 2, 2016
V INCENZA LUCARELLI-SPINELLI
March 2, 2016
ETERNAL REST IN PEACE MY DEAR YOU SERVE THE LORD WITH ALL YOUR HEART. SO PROUD TO CALL YOU COUSIN LOVE FOREVER, VINCENZA LUCARELLI SPINELLI
VINCENZA LUCARELLI-SPINELLI
March 1, 2016
so sad to hear this, Sister Arthur was an amazing science teacher to me at St. Colman's in 6th and 7th grade back in the 70's. She helped to encourage me to be a vet. XOXO Rest in peace.
Kathleen Kocher (Lescisin)
March 1, 2016
Deepest sympathy to the Tipping Family. Sister Arthur had a way of making everyone feel better, children and adults alike. It truly was a blessing to have known her.

Tish Will
March 1, 2016
Our deepest sympathy to Sister Arthur's family. We were Blessed to have had her at St. Colman. She will always be remembered.
Patti & Bill Coonnelly's
March 1, 2016
Cecelia A. Ondrey and family Sister Arthur taught my children at St Colman's she was a wonderful person.
Cecelia A. Ondrey
March 1, 2016
Sister Arthur was one of the greatest people I have ever known! She was so caring and compassionate, and never shied away from a question from a child. And she always substituted our classes and had wonderful discussions about God and life. She will be loved and fondly remembered by me and my fellow students at St. Colmans forever!
Michelle Soltis
March 1, 2016
I was so blessed to have you in my life. The love and passion that you shared with so many of us will be kept close in our hearts.
Colleen Buccigrossi
March 1, 2016
My deepest sympathy and condolences to Sister Arthur's family. I had the pleasure of working with her at St. Colman's School when I taught 3rd grade. Sister Arthur was one of the first teachers I met the day I was hired. I'll always remember her huge smile and welcoming Hello. May she rest in peace...
Mary Beth Ponitz
March 1, 2016
I had the pleasure to work with Sr. Arthur. She was an amazing teacher and so full of life and love of children! Maura Cotter
March 1, 2016
Rest in peace St. Arthur.
March 1, 2016
Sr. Arthur's love of those students she taught and mentored can only be outshined by the love they had for her. She was an astounding woman with a heart to match. She surely is looking down on us today. God is with her.
Marci and Kenny Mason
March 1, 2016
God rest your soul Sister Arthur, God knows that you helped saving my soul. As a child attending school at St. Coleman's in Turtle Creek, Sister Arthur was always a loving and supportive soul.

Billy Mistick
412-337-0586
Billy Mistick
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences