Susan E. Jones
1969-02-13 - 2017-02-06
{ "" }
Share
Share Susan's life story with friends and family
Send an Email
Or Copy this URL to Share
Susan Elizabeth (Williams) Jones, of Edgewood, passed away Monday, Feb. 6, 2017, of complications related to congenital heart disease. She was once again rallying from recent health issues, and passed away at home. It has been said that "the only people who did not like Susan were the ones who did not meet her," to the point that it was a refrain. Susan, who had a multitude of serious, and several times in her life, almost life-ending health crises due to complications from her congenital heart condition, refused to be defined by it. Born the day before Valentine's Day in 1969 and raised on Maple Avenue in Edgewood, she attended Edgewood schools, ultimately graduating from Woodland Hills/Swissvale in 1986. She went on to pursue an engineering degree at Penn State University Park. While at Penn State, she was drawn to a field that she had spent so much time involved with, and ultimately graduated in health policy and administration in 1991. While attending Penn State, she was vice president of student government, active in "Skull and Bones," and a founding sister of Gamma Delta Chapter of Delta Zeta Sorority. Following her graduation, she attended St. Margaret Hospital School of Nursing, and in 1994, Susan graduated to become a registered nurse. She spent many years giving back to the same community that had given her so much by being a pediatric nurse at Holy Name Hospital of New Jersey, and Pittsburgh Children's Hospital (in its prior location in the Oakland section of Pittsburgh). Ultimately, Susan went into medical management, and worked in a combination of this field and information technology, first with Coventry Healthcare, and ultimately (as acquired by) Aetna, where she continued to work as a health care quality manager project manager through her latest setback. Susan frequently stunned her physicians, both recent and those who had taken care of her for decades, with her resilience and will to live, as well as her ability to carry on. While Susan's sharp mind and wit, yet loving personality and unending hospitality were an asset anywhere, food shopping and preparation of meals for family gatherings, as well as those closest to her, were her greatest love. She was, on top of everything else, an amazing cook, whose greatest passion was expressing her love through a platter of delicious fare. Susan is survived by her loving and devoted husband of six years, Ronan Lamar Jones; dear sister, Jane L. Williams Knific, and her husband, Christopher; and their children, Jacqueline and Peter, of Howell, N.J.; sister-in-law, Joyce L. Hobbs, of Martinsburg, W.Va., and her sons, Christopher (Liz) and T. Bryce; Cynthia J. Gallinger, and her husband, Roy, of Sylva, N.C., and their children, Nathanial, Noah and Gwen; and Miann E. Jones, of Beckley, W.Va.
There will be no visitation. A memorial service will be held at 2 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 19, 2017, at First Presbyterian Church of Edgewood.
In lieu of flowers, please send memorial donations to Dr. Bill Neches Heart Camp for Kids, or the Heart Institute Fund at Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh Foundation. Arrangements by the THOMAS L. NIED FUNERAL HOME.

To Plant Memorial Trees in memory, please visit our Sympathy Store.
Published in Tribune Review from Feb. 14 to Feb. 16, 2017.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
No memorial events are currently scheduled. To offer your sympathy during this difficult time, you can now have memorial trees planted in a National Forest in memory of your loved one.
Memories & Condolences
Guest Book sponsored by Thomas L. Nied Funeral Home
Not sure what to say?
View Printed Guest Book
12 entries
February 16, 2017
I am so sorry to hear of Suzie's passing. I knew her from childhood in Edgewood and then even took care of her a few times when she was admitted to Children's as an adult. She was an inspiration and did not let her affliction define her. She will always be fondly remembered. My thoughts and prayers to her family and those she loved.
Tracy Avolio Ricket
February 14, 2017
Sorry for your loss Our sincere condolences. What a beautiful smile. May our Heavenly Father give family needed comfort during this most sorrowful time. He heals the brokenhearted;
He binds up their wounds.
L.R and Family
February 13, 2017
Ronan, I am sorry to learn of Susan's passing. My sincere condolences. I will keep you both in my prayers.
Pat Hanley
February 13, 2017
Ronan, prayers for you and for all who's lives Susan touched. May she live on in your memories as you continue to celebrate her life.
Lisa Yacoviello
February 13, 2017
Sending prayers for you Ronan so sorry for this terrible loss.

Laura Seech
February 13, 2017
Susan was one of the nicest people I have ever met. Ronan my deepest sympathy, sending positive thoughts and prayers.
John Fasanini, Edgewood, PA,
February 11, 2017
I'm so sorry to hear of your loss. My deepest sympathy and condolences to the family during this time of grief. Psalms 55 : 22.
February 11, 2017
Ronan, there are no words to express our sadness at this time. Heartfelt condolences dear friend. Susan lived life to the fullest; She was a true light in the midst of darkness, full of hope and spunk and smiles. She "fought the good fight, finished the race, and kept the faith" through it all. rest assured that she was greeted "well done, good and faithful servant."
I will miss her terribly.
Anna Marie Caulkins
February 10, 2017
So I know Susie through Bridget and Nora. I met her a few times quite a few years ago. She was sassy and funny. I know her best through stories that were relayed from nora, but those stories solidify the amazing person that Susie was...she fought so long....this just sucks.
Kristin
February 10, 2017
Dear Rohan, my sincere condolences on the loss of Susan. I agree with the words written of her. I admired her perservence. I'm so very sorry. This world lost a beautiful lady! My thoughts & prayers to you & your family.
Diane Dubbs
February 10, 2017
Ronan, my condolences to you on Susan's death. I always loved running into her at Giant Eagle where we would share stories and laugh so hard our stomachs hurt. She had a fond spot for my father and would share stories of her mother and my father. She will be very, very missed by all who were touched by her life.
Susan Lithgow
February 10, 2017
Having fun with her fish, Keyviche Seafood Eatery, Key West, FL Valentines Day 2016.
My everything. Love, Ronan
Ronan Jones
Invite others to add memories
Share to let others add their own memories and condolences