Avis Arlene Moni
FUNERAL HOME
Nashville Funeral and Cremation
210 McMillin Street
Nashville, TN
Avis Arlene Moni

Nashville, TN

Age 86, passed away July 8, 2014. An active member in The Nashville Grotto of the National Speleological Society.

Survived by husband, Gerald Moni; daughters, Janet and Julie Lamson.

In lieu of flowers, please bring memories of Avis to share at the Celebration of Life Service to be announced at a later date.

Nashville Funeral and Cremation, 615-256-1605.



Published by The Tennessean on Jul. 10, 2014.
34465541-95D0-45B0-BEEB-B9E0361A315A
To plant trees in memory, please visit the Sympathy Store.
MEMORIAL EVENTS
To offer your sympathy during this difficult time, you can now have memorial trees planted in a National Forest in memory of your loved one.
Funeral services provided by:
Nashville Funeral and Cremation
MAKE A DONATION
MEMORIES & CONDOLENCES
Add a Message


Not sure what to say?



43 Entries
Today I sit crocheting potholders and remember her gifts if knittedpotholders. I am blessed to have a couple Halloween and Christmas ones. She was an extrodinary lady who lived her life to the fullest.
Yvonne Lamson
July 4, 2020
Janet and Julie-I am so sorry for the loss of your Mom. What a special person with a light up the room smile. Her happiness was contagious. She was a one of a kind person.
Becly Lamson
August 12, 2014
Avis was a special lady and a wonderful hostess with an infectious smile. We miss her!
Misty Chambers
August 10, 2014
Those that we hold closest to our hearts never truly leave us. They live on in the kindness that they have shared and the love they brought into our lives. We so grateful that we got to shared many family moments with Avis she was Truly a Wonderful Soul.
Gregg and Audrey Stubenvoll/C
August 6, 2014
AVIE, YOU WERE SO SPECIAL....NEVER WITHOUT A LAUGH AND A SMILE. I REMEMBER A CRUISE SEVERAL YEARS BACK AND YOU WERE THE LIFE OF THE PARTY. LOVE....PENNY
August 3, 2014
Avis' smile could light even the darkest parts of the world. She remains the light of love in her family and friends. She is loved and missed.
Yvonne Lamson
July 31, 2014
Auntie Avis was a wonderful woman. She was so much fun to be with. The last Lamson family trip to Canada was the best and will forever be.in my mind. We will all miss her soo much. Luv Ya Antie.
Linda Vinke
July 31, 2014
She was a force of nature and we miss her
Lon Lamson
July 31, 2014
Avis, your passing is leaving an unfillable void, in Gerald, your family, and so many friends in and out of the caving community. You were so much fun to be around, and, i'm sure you've heard this a zillion times, but your a real true inspiration. At 86 some might say you lived a long life, but it could never be long enough. Avis, you're a part of, everyone who's ever know you. They just don't make em any better.
Gary Chambers
July 16, 2014
I met Avis in 1994 after moving south. She was always warm and inviting, a positive and inspiring woman. I will never forget how she and JV conspired to "rock" Chris and Julie Hudson's wedding cake. Just an awesome lady who will be fondly remembered and greatly missed.
Jaime Coffman (Fee)
July 15, 2014
What a fine lady, we will all miss her.
Bill Balfour
July 12, 2014
I spent time with Avis and Gerald in Blue Spring Cave on a day she was tired and I helped her out. This endeared me to her, and she knitted me the best 'boggan cap in all of TAG. she also was the second person into Pete's Plunge, right behind me in the initial exploration, 96ft deep in 2011! A role model for all who met her; the epitome of grace and delight, a reminder we should all be tough and sweet in all our endeavours..
alfred crabtree
July 12, 2014
Talk about a person who placed her mark in the life she led! Outstanding person.....miss her!
Roger Haley
July 12, 2014
Avis had an infectious smile, an indelible sprit, and one incredible recipe for cookies and always willing to share. The world was a better place with her around and she will be missed. Condolences to all her family especially Gerald, hang in there guys. You are in my thoughts and prayers. God bless you all.
July 11, 2014
Avis was a wonderful lady that touched a lot of lives she will truly be missed.
Sheldon and Tonya Clutts
July 11, 2014
We are all so blessed to have met Avis. She had the warmest heart and the best smile. She will always be an inspiration for me.
Dave Wascher
July 11, 2014
As the days and weeks pass, and as you return to life's routine, may you continue to feel comforted by the love and support of family and friends.
Mr.&Mrs.Floyd (Mary) Best III
July 11, 2014
Avis was a unique and inspirational person. Her presence in the caving community will be sorely missed. Peace be with you, Avis.
Chris and Julie Hudson
July 11, 2014
We loved Avis and we were honored to have her as a friend. She will forever live in our hearts. Avis was an icon and an inspiration. Our thoughts and prayers are with her family.
Toni & Tony Amundson
July 11, 2014
I first met her in 1996. I have many good memories of time spent with her. She was an inspiration to many.
Martha Mills
July 10, 2014
I enjoyed several caving trips with Avis in the late 1980's and early 1990's. Also camped at her home near Huntsville several times. A beautiful and down to earth soul. She always had raccoon families that stopped by her porch each evening for snacks. She had great energy and could out-hike and out-cave me any day. I'm glad for these happy memories of her. I send my love and prayers to her family.
John Arnaldi
July 10, 2014
Avis you have been and will remain my inspiration to live life to the fullest potential.
Terri Haynes
July 10, 2014
Avis was a great host, always cheerful and wonderful meals waiting every time we came to visit.
Julianna Held
July 10, 2014
Always friendly!
July 10, 2014
Fabulous woman, indomitable spirit, wonderful friend. The world will be a different place without her.
Carol Westlake
July 10, 2014
Sorry to hear that such a great caver is gone.
Jack and Nancy Thomison
July 10, 2014
Avis you will be missed. I enjoyed your company and your wonderful cookies. Rest in peace.
Kenneth Storey
July 10, 2014
I first met the Pink Lady at NCRC in Virginia. She was a big part of my Level 1 class and set the standard for us. Always ready, always upbeat and first to volunteer.
She is loved and will be missed.
July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for coming into my life! You made me smile, stopped to get to know the real me, and always had great cookies on hand. We'll meet again, and I look forward to it!
Raine Tanner
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Avis was an inspiring bright, pink light! She will be missed, but remembered fondly whenever I see a pink flamingo, cool bat jewelry & many other things. I'm sorry.
Candice Eagle
July 10, 2014
Jay Santiago
July 10, 2014
Miss you my mom.
Jan Lamson
July 10, 2014
Showing 1 - 43 of 43 results